Last day in Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

At the bottom of one of the waterfalls I found on my hike.
This morning I embarked on my last run in Queenstown. I think I’m doing more non-long run mileage on this trip than I did in Europe when I was training for the marathon. Following the run, I spent some time catching up on my entries. Well, keeping up a bit. I’m a few days behind since I’ve been staying so busy here.

For lunch I headed off to Ferg’s for my last minty lamb burger. I took it to go and ate on a grass square overlooking the harbor. Afterwards, I went to the Department of Conservation to try and find a map and trail notes for an afternoon hike. All I could find were complete sets of the area selling for NZ$19. I passed and opted to just go exploring and see where that takes me.

I set off on the same trail as I did my first day here, planning to do Fernhill Loop, a 2-3 hour hike, including a mile to get there along One Mile Creek. Along the creek, I ran into a couple waterfalls. I maneuvered my way around the first and largest, taking pictures from below and above the fall. At the second
Same waterfallSame waterfallSame waterfall

Now I'm above it.
one, I started walking on some rocks, careful not to slip and fall in. Careful came up short and in went my right foot. I got it out quickly before it got too wet.

This time I remained on the path and worked my way up towards the start to Fernhill Loop. When I came across a sign for Ben Lomond, after evaluating my water supply, I opted to try and make the Ben Lomond Saddle two and a half hours away.

The early section of the hike was mainly under tree cover, providing a shield from the hot sun. But after an Alpine section on the Ben Lomond trail, it turned into an open, sunny field with a very rocky trail. The sun was draining so I was ecstatic when I got to another Alpine section where I could sit, rest and cool down. Unfortunately this section was brief and I was back in the open on rocky terrain a couple hundred yards later.

As I continued to climb, I needed more and more water. I had planned a mostly covered hike and was draining water too fast for this one. But not too far above
AlpinesAlpinesAlpines

Alpine trees rest in front of the lake and surrounding hills.
were some low peaks so I went on water discipline and decided I would turn back the next time I took a drink. I was also worried that the sunscreen I had on was largely gone as I sweated profusely.

I knew this couldn’t last much longer so I picked one of the peaks, well short of Ben Lomond saddle, and climbed it to take in the views.

At the top I quickly dropped my pack and stripped off my soaked shirt to cool down. I immediately noticed that I was much higher than I was on the Queenstown Hill, though the views from here were not as impressive due to another peak in the way. But I could still see well down into the valleys below and had a great view of some high peaks nearby, one of which I believe was Ben Lomond Saddle.

After a few minutes I took in some water and started my walk back down. Naturally, this was much less strenuous.

I continued down along the same rocky path, passing several other hikers along the way. At one point down below I saw a head bob once and thought it
TerrainTerrainTerrain

The most difficullt terrain was a bit steep, very rocky and open, allowing the sun to punish me.
was another hiker wearing a white hat. Then out came a goat which was out for a stroll.

A bit later, after deciding to take the path that goes to the gondola, I ran into a few more goats grazing in the countryside.

About 20 minutes later I made it to the gondola where I found a water fountain, guzzling water for a minute or more.

Refreshed, I followed the luge path down to the Ledge bungy jumping area. There were a few girls getting ready to go. One of the guys that was there to watch them was someone I had met at the hostel trivia night. He mentioned that they were doing this for the first time.

The Ledge jump had some great views but was nowhere near as long or scary a drop as Nevis. I’m sure I wouldn’t have liked it as much; I thought Nevis at eight seconds felt short. This one couldn’t have been more than two seconds. The nice thing was that since feet weren’t tied people could run and jump off. After watching four or five girls go, I hiked back down a wide open dirt trail.
ValleyValleyValley

Looking down at the valley and Queenstown from my summit.

Back at the hostel, I got cleaned up, fixed some soup for dinner and spent the rest of the night relaxing and taking care of my Christchurch and Melbourne accommodations and travel plans. It was my first and only night in.

My stay in Queenstown has been phenomenal. It may be premature to say so but this very well could end up being my favorite destination yet. There is so much to do here - from adventure sports to hiking, scenic walks, rock climbing, rafting, laying by the beach and swimming. It’s all outdoors, making it great for physical and mental health.

The only drawbacks of my stay here are the cost - many of the activities are very expensive - and that I clearly shortchanged myself on time. I could have spent my six days here doing nothing but hiking on the local trails.

Lastly, I met some great people here that clearly added to my enjoyment. I hope Queenstown is just a starting point of more to come.

Tomorrow I catch the bus up to Christchurch.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

GoatGoat
Goat

One of the goats looking at me from a cliff.
Ledge BungyLedge Bungy
Ledge Bungy

This bungy is much smaller than the one I did. But it does offer a great backdrop.
GondolaGondola
Gondola

Looking down the steep gondola trail.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb