Doubtful Sound


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
September 5th 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After playing around in sydney for a while we flew back into queenstown, New Zealand. I know I already have tons of posts up about that place but there is so much to see there. I think it is the best place in new zealand. On the first day we had booked a cruise around milford sound but couldn't go there because an avalanche fell in the morning and closed off the road. We then got on a cruise around doubtful sound. It was a day long trip and of course was very beautiful. It is something that you couldn't see anywhere else in the world. All the pictures up are of doubtful sound and the pictures don't do it any justice. The next day we went on a jet boat cruise up the dart river, and then went back down it on funyaks, which are blow up canoes. It was very pretty but very cold. I didn't get any pictures of that day because I didn't want my camera to get wet and it had ran out of batteries anyway. The next day we traveled back from queenstown to Dunedin, where I live. We took a longer scenic route home so we could see more of new zealand. Most of it was on a bus, but we finished with a scenic train ride. Along this trip I saw many places that Lord of the Rings was filmed, but didn't take any pictures. woops. I saw the place where Isengard was located, I saw the deadly marsh they walked through, a forest they walked through, mountains that were in the movie, the forest where all the live trees were, and many rock sculptures that had clips in the movie.


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th September 2009

Wow
I love all of the waterfalls, they look amazing. I can't believe they start so far up and some just drop off the side of a cliff. Those would have been amazing to see!! Did you get a new beanie?
10th September 2009

:O)
SO pretty!!! I am jealous! Your hair is getting so long too!!! I can't wait to see you...but I'm glad you are having so much fun! :O)

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb