Sunday, I think


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 11th 2009
Published: March 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GlenorchyGlenorchyGlenorchy

rainbow for my travels
Sunday March 8, 2009

Decided to get out to Glenorchy early so I’m on the road after a quick breakfast. I was thinking as I drove that describing NZ is a lot like the old story of the three blind men and the elephant. Each man was given a different part of the animal to touch, one the ear, one the leg, one the trunk. When asked to describe the animal they each had a different answer. Everyday here is a different experience yet they are all the same glorious country. Driving out to Glenoerchy also emphasized the fact that there are some really BIG lakes here. I was rewarded for my journey with a rainbow. Arriving just a little before noon I decided to have coffee and a slice of quiche and read the Sunday newspaper. Read a really interesting article on adolescent brain development that was published in conjunction with a week dedicated to the study of brain development and injury at the U. of Otago. Reminded again of some of Matt's issues. What a small world indeed. Back in Queenstown I decided to do the Gondola and Luge. As the saying goes, you can’t do it just
The LugeThe LugeThe Luge

in Queenstown
once. I went twice and probably could have spent the afternoon up there. I got their photo and will be able to publish it as a download. Down from the hill, into Queenstown for the balance of the afternoon. Gathering supplies, glue for my shoe, no big deal, batteries and more misc. groceries. Wasn’t in the mood to eat out again tonight. Queenstown is a great resort, but honestly after a couple of days I am ready to move on. How many t-shirt shops does the world really need?

Monday March 9, 2009

Weather turning a tad fallish. In fact the Aspiring Range has a good dusting of snow it has collected over the weekend. First leg of today’s travels takes me down the south east side of Lake Wakatipu. Having now driven this entire lake valley it is clear why Queenstown is what it is. Beautiful summer activity area and excellent ski area for winter. At Kingston I stop to take a look at the Kingston Flyer, an old steam engine train that runs on a track in the valley It was bright and sunny this morning so I’m in shorts. I learn here that the next three days are going to be on the cool side so it’s on with shoes and a pullover before the end of the hour. Now in the interior mountain valleys I am seeing yet another NZ with large expanse of grazing field for sheep and cows. I also see some of the red tussocks that you LOR fans may remember. I’ll see many more next week so will get photos then. At Five Rivers corner (6 &97) I stop at one of the cafes’ Ron had recommended. As I reach for the door who should appear, in leaving mode, but Paula Martin. Of course she comes back in and we exchange stories over coffee. Turns out she had been calling my number but it required the country code which she was not using. What an unexpected surprise! O.K. Ron, tell me the truth now, you have had her tailing me so I wouldn’t get into trouble. She’s meeting other road folks in QT so we part and I am off to Te Anau. I arrive safely at Fiordland Great Views park and confirm my cruise plans for the next two days. I am doing Milford and Doubtful Sound by tour bus to maximize the enjoyment. Early to bed - up at 6:30 for the bus - Did I say 6:30? What is this?





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chance meetingChance meeting
Chance meeting

Paula Martin & yours truly at the junction to Te Anau


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb