"Not all those who wander are lost."


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
December 13th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


As of 5 days ago I have no longer been in Australia. I think that's kind of a big deal; when have I ever spent anywhere close of that much time in one country apart from Scotland. But there were two more amazing weeks that you guys haven't heard about yet. Not to mention one week in my brand new country, New Zealand. Oh yes, your in for a treat...especially the bit where I sing to an audience of over one thousand people, that love me...

So lets Tarantino it and take you back to start: after just surviving Fraser island I arrived in Brisbane with my gammy foot to meet long term buddy Callum. Cal and I know each other from working in America, and it was my first time in his home city. After taking the cities scenic tour and Modern Art Gallery we caught up with another long term friend, Alex; who was wasted after being at the Cricket the whole day. Was fun seeing people I know though, gets tiring talking to backpackers after a while. Spent a few days with Cal, highlights included visiting few scenic spots, walking his brothers dog and a theme park, yeah! I'd already been to Movie World, so we went to Dream world. The scariest ride in this Gold Coast park would definitely be the Giant Drop, one of those huge towers that lifts you up and then lets you wait before smashing you into the ground. A ride closer to my heart was the claw, which just swung you around, but it shares a name of a game that me and friends play back home. Was also in the Australian Big Brother house, it was crap.

After saying see you soon to Cal (he has plans to come to UK in 2012) I took a bus to Surfers Paradise to meet Scottish friend Fiona, who I worked in Comet back in Stirling. She and her Family emigrated to Australia almost two years ago and they have never looked back, loving every minute of Australia. So after talking about how everyone in Scotland would be freezing and going to work we had a BBQ and a few beers. Was really good to catch up with Fiona again and she sent me off on the bus with my packed lunch - which was amazing by the way.

That Next Bus Happened to be going to Byron Bay, where Straight away I met Pete and Mike from Fraser Island, as well as two Canadian girls that we met. We all made a small crew of friends at the Hostel and as my antibiotics for my war wound were finished (nearly) I partied for the first time in over a week! We had some fun here, drinking during the day, trips to the beach, visiting the light house and the most eastward point of Australia! One day trip was a visit to the town of Nimbin, most known to be the hippy capital of Australia. Was a fun day, consisted of loads of people in a bus with huge speakers getting driven around wasted all day. If you remember from my last entry Mike from Fraser and me always end in carnage. We had so many hilarious moments partying, involving fake tattoos, real life wild python, getting chucked out of a club, paper hats and headbutting each other. All these good times are because of Fruity Lexia wine, I love it.

Before I knew it I was back in Terrigal, Central Coast, New South Wales. It was as if the
Me and Cal go way backMe and Cal go way backMe and Cal go way back

their not my sunnies btw
past 3 months of Cairns and traveling had never happened. I was reunited with Kim, Carly, Casper, Manny, Michelle, Nikki, Sarah etc. My week here was culminating to my leaving party on Friday night. Where all my Central Coast buddies turned up, as well as Sally from Cairns and her boyfriend Pete. We had an awesome night partying and the mess of Kims flat proved how good the part was the next day. Saturday proved to be a good day as well as I attended a Baseball game with Kim and her family. Her brother Craig plays professional baseball in America and he was home playing for New South Wales. It was all going smoothly until I was stopped by a man when I was trying to find the bar. He was organising the on field entertainment between innings and asked if I wanted to be part of it. Seeing it as an opportunity to be the center of attention I said yes, I also had the chance to win 12 donuts. All I had to do was compete against another spectator in a singing contest. I was confident those donuts were mine, everyone always tells me I'm an awesome singer. So before I know it I'm on the field with some middle aged semi pissed woman, the organiser and a crowd of one thousand plus staring at me. The woman went first and sang 500 miles, quite well, getting the crowd into it as well. I was still confident. I take hold of the mike, commend the woman on her Scottish song, dedicate mines to 'Ando' in the NSW team. And what did I sing? What song from my extensive musical background, what sing a long anthem, what modern classic did I choose??? Low by Flo-rida. You know it, 'apple bottom jeans, boots with the fur, the whole club looking at her' and 'shorty got low low low low.' I rocked it, dance moves and everything, so when the host asked people to cheer for who they liked better, it was like night and day, the crowd erupted when my name was called. I earned those 12 donuts, walking back to my seat people were shaking my hand, singing to me, I even got a free beer when I went back to the bar!

My last nite in Australia was spent well, with a trip to the Andersons or 'Ando's' to have one last meal with them. Every Monday/Tuesday Kim and I would go round for dinner, a few drinks and some good times. Ever since I arrived they made me feel welcome, and made my time in Australia really enjoyable. So with a family portrait complete, goodbyes were said. Before I knew it I was in a new place with funny money and funny talking people, New Zealand!

They really do say some words funny, I was in Subway, ordering my sand-wich, where I was asked if I like 'cheeda', WHAT? 'cheeda'. Well sure go for it, lets find out what 'cheeda' is. Turns out she's trying to say cheddar, as in cheese! Returning back to professional travel writer again, I had arrived in Christchurch in New Zealand's south island. It's commonly described as more England than England, not a good start. But turns out its a nice place to wander around and explore the cities history, complete with Cathedral, sweet museum and botanic gardens. I randomly bumped into Hugo and Johnny two of my English mates from Cairns (bungy jumped with these lads). So was fun catching up with them and their Swedish mates. After
Fiona from CometFiona from CometFiona from Comet

Catchin up with Scottish pal in Oz
sorting my life out for a couple of days I made a jaunt to Mount Cook, New Zealand's highest mountain, over 12 thousand feet; thats 3 times higher than Ben Nevis in Scotland and twice as high as Mt Washington in New Hampshire. What makes this mountain all the more badass is that its covered by glaciers! The drive coming into really impressed me, being Scottish I thought I'd seen my good scenery, but in New Zealand its all exagerated. The bus stopped at a couple of lakes, which were huge, bright turquoise water, all surrounded by massive snow topped peaks. I never actually saw the top of Mount Cook, there were big bastard clouds everywhere. The hostel here is in the middle of a small town at the base of the mountains, very remote, incredibly open, great place to spend the night. Before leaving the next day I got involved in a bit of treking round, very relaxing. Which brings me to my current destination, Queenstown; which just so happens to be set beside a massive lake and massive mountains. Had a few beers with guys from the hostel but did'nt get too involved - only a $25 night, $35 if you include the kebab. Queenstown is famous for pretty much being the extreme sports capital of the world, the first ever commercial bungy site was here (43M) and the-second highest commercial bungy point is here (143M). There is a ridiculous number of tours doing cool stuff which I never did thanks to my budget. One thing I did do was take a cable car up a mountain, where they have a luge track! I luged before in Singapore, but this was a more extreme course, with nicer scenery, so was a great, cheap, fun day out. Its funny how many Lord of the Rings tours there are here, but most of the film was made in the south of the south island where I am. As cliched as it sounds you can see a magic quality in the New Zealand landscape, and thats the reason I have chosen a quote from J.R.R.Tolkien for the title of this blog.

All right we are officialy, up to date. But don't worry I have a couple more tricks up my sleeve, as tommorow I'm going to Franz Josef. And whats there? A massive glacier, which I will conquer!

Thanks
Me and Mike made these randoms make us hatsMe and Mike made these randoms make us hatsMe and Mike made these randoms make us hats

Before we jumped the fence to make a dramatic escape
to you all for joining me on this little jaunt through the past chapter of my travels.
I've enjoyed myself, I hope you have too.

Kevin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

Actual Bejing Silver MedalActual Bejing Silver Medal
Actual Bejing Silver Medal

Callums Brother Won it
Mount CookMount Cook
Mount Cook

...is somewhere up there
Sally and Kim meet!Sally and Kim meet!
Sally and Kim meet!

Two great girls
NSW v QueenslandNSW v Queensland
NSW v Queensland

New South Wales won!
Kims FamilyKims Family
Kims Family

Her Brother plays Baseball
South SideSouth Side
South Side

Brisbane


13th December 2008

Kevin singing
the thought of Kevin winning a singing contest has me in stitches laughing!!!!!!!!!
13th December 2008

Only you
Only you would sing Low to a crowd of baseball fans! I'm loving the mental picture. You are just too funny. PS - So jealous that you got to spend lots of time with Cal and Kim. PPS - Get back to the UK soon so I can see you :)
14th December 2008

Acsent
Hey Kev, laugh at the fact that you think the Kiwis talk funny. I thought you were constantly clearing your throat when I first met you. LOL. Jealous of you being in NZ, what a cool spot. Back in misty London and heading back to sunny SA tom. Bring on the beach!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb