Queenstown - bizarre place


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
October 12th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

QueenstownQueenstownQueenstown

A good view of downtown and the mountain range beyond, known as the Remarkables. This photo was taken from the Gondola, a good 45 min. walk from my hostel.
Been a while since my last entry, mainly because I couldn't figure out what my password was. Doh!

I've spent the last week in Deco's Backpacker's hostel, and I just found a less temporary place to live. A couple guides are moving out of their room and need someone to rent their space for the month they are away. The house is in a spot called Sunshine bay, which is about a 30 min. walk from town. A bit of a schlep, but nothing I can't handle. Luckily there is a carpool that swings buy in the mornings for work. It will be nice to get out of the constant noise of the Deco's, what with the dance party radio station on full blast from about 9am - 11pm every day, and the free tea and coffee leaving me in a caffeine induced stupor.

I've just been issue my working holiday visa along and am completely checked off on my NZ guiding license. Just need to wait for the busy season to kick off and I'm in business!

The weather was perfect today, took a walk around the Fernhill loop, a three hour march up in the hills.
Lake Wakatipu Lake Wakatipu Lake Wakatipu

Part of the lake, along with some gorgeous peak that I don't know the name of, one of many!
I gained a good amount of elevation in the process, probably topping out around 1,000 meters (3300 feet fer us 'mericans).

Queenstown is a bizarre place. It has taken me a while to come to some sort of conclusion about it, and I have finally started to figure it out. The town is completely and utterly devoid of culture! The permanent population hovers around 12,000 people, but the tourist population at any given time can reach about 15,000. The main town is nothing but bars and shopping outlets. It's as if the entire town exists to serve one function, to empty the wallets of its visitors. Weird place.

Send more soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Me and the lakeMe and the lake
Me and the lake

A nice walk around Queenstown Gardens, home to some colorful pigeons, a frisbee golf course, a skateboard park, some flowers, and a million dollar view. Crazy hair not part of the gardens, I brought that myself
Bumble's BackpackersBumble's Backpackers
Bumble's Backpackers

My first home, a good place but kinda drafty.
Deco's BackpackersDeco's Backpackers
Deco's Backpackers

My second home, cheaper, warmer, better view, free tea, helluva walk from the town.
View from FernhillView from Fernhill
View from Fernhill

Yup. Just another breathtaking view from Queenstown. This is from the outskirts, a quiet place called Fernhill. A passing storm created the rainbow, a double rainbow at one stage.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb