Queenstown - Lively spot


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
May 12th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After our boat trip we drive the short distance to Queenstown which is the place to be in the South Island supposedly and I can’t disagree, you can do anything here in terms of activities and adventure, it’s the home of the bungi jump and in the winter months it’s a busy ski resort. I had it on mind that this is where my sky dive would be done so after the first day I booked it only to have it cancelled due to cloudy weather. The Wednesday morning I woke up to clear blue sky's which only meant one thing for me that I'd be jumping out of a perfectly functioning airplane at 12,000 feet. The nerves weren’t as bad as I thought it'd as we geared up and watched others go up and land which made things easier. The plane only has space for 9people and we are all huddled together in it with no leg room no seats no belt but at least you have a parachute. I'm 1st out so I have the best seat in the house as my instructor tells me to take in all the views of the area which are just spectacular. The
What am I atWhat am I atWhat am I at

Only seconds after leaving the plane
door of the plane is clear see through perspex so it in itself scares you. As we reach 12,000 feet the plane slowly practically to a stop and its then the adrenaline start to run, my camera man is out first he holds on to the edge of the plane as I sit on the door way head tilted back and before you now it your freefalling rapidly toward the ground in what is an unexplained unbelievable feeling, the freefall lasts for 45 second but it feels like 5seconds it goes so quick before the chute is pulled and you start to take in what you've just done and the scenery of the area. When you land you want to go straight back up and do it again and you wonder why you are nervous in the first place. With the dive I’ve a photo album and DVD of it all to remember, I'd recommend anybody to do it its just class.
After the dive, I could relax in Queenstown, we did the luge which is a small cart you fly downhill on a track which was pretty cool and also went to see a comedy show which had Neil Delamire the Irish comedian which was really funny.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb