Queenstown... heh heh heh


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
September 22nd 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again peeps

Well its another day after last night which well... a fair amount of lager, dancing on tables and telling Ross and the other guys I was not interested in pulling a bird. Ross managed 3, he was proud of this, must be an age thing. Me... I preferred to just unwind and have fun being me. Anyway EVERY pub here has an external fire place, and big ones at that. I mean big ones. These are built to cator for the skiing season, which is pretty much at an end and I can comfortably say that when its cold, which it is at night mainly, you fancy a fag you can go chill by the log fire and take it all in.

So many foreigners, Americans, Indonesians, Chinese, Irish its a lovely cultural mix. We met some local lads, real pleasure too, we dragged them into one club and bought them a drink... a shot which Ross managed to spill all over the table. Ok he was a touch tipsy... ha ha ha... a touch tipsy. Well we got talking after, found out they own a scafholding company in Queenstown and were looking for people to work for them. Not wanting to close any doors I got his number. Anyway they pissed off at this point and Ross and I had another drink. After realising Kevin (our host and pub guide) was catching up with old friends and well... pretty much ready to head home we popped to another pub asking heaps of strange slightly worried people where it was. To our alcohol induced happiness they obliged and we found it. After heading inside we saw the NZ lads again, here we met a rather large bouncer who was their friend, this would turn out to work in Ross's favour when he tried to return in a slightly intoxicated state. Anyway I was feeling fine, just hungry as you do, however not knowing where any decent fast food outlets were selling foods at silly hours that never happened. Anyway this is where we had a few more drinks, danced on the tables and well... we acted like prats, just letting go of everything and anything that would previously tie us into a specific society. You know being boring, which is what I had become. Anyway Ross motioned for us to go and judging by the way he was looking I didnt question him. So off we popped.

Now walking back to our place of residence was very amusing, never attempt to argue with Ross at the late late hours of the day when he is drunk... its like talking to a brick wall. ha ha ha ha ha. I kept pointing in the opposite direction but Ross was convinced we were staying somewhere else all together... very strange. Anyway I tried a number of times and Ross told me to go my way and he would go his and we would see who got back first... like I was going tinintertain that idea. Anyway I intertained his random walking thing for a while till he realised he had pointed us in the wrong direction. This was after a conversation with his mom over the phone costing I dont know how much... possibly about $5... rather cheap actually. Anyway we flagged down a taxi, jumped in and asked to be taken to sunrise road... no close... I cant remember. $10,40 later we were there. Now came the challenging part. See the houses here are all built on rocky mountain type areas, so there are stairs... and are theire lights... no... whats the point. So we are stumbling up the stairs and both of us nearly fell through a slight gap under the house. After yet another fag we headed inside. Now my sleeping area is in the loft... so there are steep stairs to negotiate... sober is ok as you have a sense of balance, however drunk... or slightly tipsy as I was by this point... well its more challenging, I got up there and fell asleep, only to wake up 2 hours later really needing a wee... stairs again... sorted. Didnt sleep late at all, was up by 10am... really impressed with that, no headache, no hangover... nice bacon sarnie made for me and then it was time for a fag.

Now Kevin, our host incase some of you forgot, has himself a Nissan 4x4... I think its a Terano. After pointing us to a ski slope he gave me the keys and him and his wife walked into town to go do some shopping. So a shower, and for Ross a well needed poo later we were in the car ready to go. We got on the road... NO STOP SIGNS, everyone yields and you just keep going, its very interesting. Anyway we were driving down this little road, it was beautiful, between two mountains. I was being very careful with the car, as its not mine so I was under the limit, cruising and then it happened. The car magically lost the turbo diesel engine and this tractor engine was dropped in its place. That or a big truck engine. It was a touch noisy. So being the locical thinker I am I pulled over in a safe location (fear not mother I am not trying to get killed so soon... ha ha ha) I popped the bonnet and saw the problem, the exhaust pipe had somehow detached itself from the manifold. Well I was relieved it was not my fault. So I called Kevin to let him know, no problem, we will sort it later... and we shall. So I got the car ready to turn back... now its noisy and I have to accelorate. Cue the truck drivers gear change and we are off. Bouncing down the road back to wards Sunrise Close. We made it after missing the turning... slight power loss, especially on the hills... steep hills, dad you would love these for your cycling. We got back, emptied the car, didnt lock it, thats unheard of, who locks their cars here? Anyway walked into the house threw the keys down and came to town. it was great, we got a little wet and had a laugh. Grabbed some food and well here we are.

More to come as tonight is well... undecided to be honest with you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb