Queenstown part 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Queenstown is the adventure capital of New Zealand, and probably the World. It is the birthplace of the commercial bungy jump (not the modern day bungy jump as that was off the Clifton Suspension Bridge in Bristol) and AJ Hackett offers three jumps within Queenstown itself, if you do all three, they call it the THRILLOGY. They don't call me double hard for nothing.

The journey into Queenstown had a stop at the original Bungy site, Kawarau Bridge. This is a 43 metre jump from a bridge, with the option of being dunked in the river below. After the skydive in the morning, we were up for anything and decided to go with the water option and do it with tops off. Whilst Will and I were pretty chilled at the top, Dan was silent, concenterating on his jump. Out of the whole Kiwi Experience bus, all watching below, I was last to go. As I was last, the dude asked me if I wanted to go backwards, which I accepted. I thought I was going to jump off it backwards. He held the rope around my waist and lowered me off the ledge, waited for about 5 seconds, and then let go. Now when you go backwards, you don't see the river coming towards you, and when you hit the water you get it all up your nose. They also dunked me past my boxers, which was not what I'd asked for, so it was another bus journey soaking wet, but it was worth it as it was bloody awesome. Not quite as intense as a skydive, but still an incredible feeling.

We then checked into Discovery Lodge with the rest of the Kiwi crew, and Dan and I went to find a barbers. On the way we randomly bumped into Matt, a mate from Noosa, and agreed to meet him later in Altitude bar. On a high from the Skydives and Bungy jumps, we went out for a celebratory meal, where Dan and I had a man wich, which consisted of steaks, onions and bbq sauce in a huge sandwich with chips and veg, and was awesome. You have to bear in mind that for the past week or so we'd been cooking our own unexciting food to save some money, and this was a luxury for us.

We then hit Altitude bar and managed to win the quiz which scored us a $100 bar tab, which was a result. 11pm - 12midnight it was free beers in the World bar, another result. The next day was spent nursing a hangover and catching up on some much needed sleep.

The next day we sorted a hire car and headed to Dunedin, a notorious student town on the south west coast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb