Nevis Bungy ............f...............


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BungyyBungyyBungyy

Before
I know, i know i am way behind in my blogs, just like being back in college really. Though i do promise i have a very good excuse (no its not alcohol poisioning). The Internet down this end of the world is crap and no one will let you have access to the pc's to upload photos....soo i am afraid that the three you see here (already on the net thanks to the guys at AJ Hackett Bungy) will be your lot until i get to Oz. When i do you should have some tale's that range from a trip up the rio amazonas in the Bolivain jungle to the Bolivan Salt flats and back to Argentina for an international football match, alone with loads more. So bare with me!

Right enough of the excuses and explanations and onto the brief snippet that i can talk about.....my bungy in Queenstown.

Having being in Queenstown for nearly a week, and hearing story after story of how amazing a bungy jump was, i decided (along with Dar, Davy and Graham) to partake in one myself. Now there are 4 you can choose from:

1. The Ledge, 43m high and
BungyyBungyyBungyy

Above
a bit pansy by all accounts......rule that one out.
2. Kawaru Bride, 46m high and the worlds first ever bungy, but you get dipped into the river and it was still a little pansy for my liking.
3.The Pipeline, 104m high (much more like it!!) but way way away, out again.

That left us with number 4, The Nevis bungy - from a platform 134m or for you oldies reading this about 440ft from the canyon floor.

Now when i say that i was a little nervous that would be an understatement, this slight nervousness turned into a bowel shuddering tremor that i was the second jumper on the list, why me?? can someone please answer me that?

Anyway, myself and the lads set off on the coach for the short 20 minute bus journey to the jump sight north of Queenstown, the bus was a little quiet, though you could hear the occasional muttering of a couple choice words.

Once there it was straight into it, harnessed up briefed and re-weighed as we prepared for jump.

Being No.2 I was in the first shuttle across, the open air cable car was almost as scary
BungyyBungyyBungyy

Side
as the jump itslef.You then step into the platform, about 20ft by 15ft covered over and suspended 134m above the canyon by 4 massive cables. The glass floor and swaying effect from the wind didn't help......as you imagine. Once in they start to strap up your feet, with each cuff added to my leg i seem to loose control of an additonal part of my body, i wont metion which.

Anyway, Thomas the poor English git is up first, he struggles with the fear, as we all do and bottles the first attempt. Then at the second run he is off, he returns 4-5 mins later with the biggest smile and woop i had seen that day.......i relaxed a little. Well, that was until they sat me in that chair and bound my seet together and then attached the bungy cord.....WHAT THE F*CK AM I DOING, is the only sentence i seem to be able to muster. Thomas back on board it is my turn, Dar gives me a smug smile as my ghost like figure shimmy's towards the edge, not eas when your feet are bound. I demand 2 seconds to compose myself......(and bless myself, i have no recolection of doing this but the dvd does not lie)

3.........2...............1.......DIVE!!


FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I fall at a speed of 140 Km/h straight down.........The rush is amazing!! the first recoil give you the feeling of weightlessness and once at the peak you fall over 100m again. At the top of the second arc you pull the release cord that flips you from being hung by the feet to being hung by the waist. 4 Minutes from my dive, the adrenaline still pumping i am hauled back into the platform.


All i can say is AMMMMMMAAAAAAAAZZZZZZZZZZZIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

Advertisement



16th May 2007

Oh My God!
You mad thing! Cant believe you did it! Photos look class - fair play! Myself and Tara are at home now :-( How depressing! Back to work on Monday - reckon I might top myself!!!! hahaha Talk soon Kela XXXX
17th May 2007

pic 2
the second pic is upside down - need to fix it - looks wierd!
18th May 2007

@_@
My goodness, you did it... We are all down to LAX for Guinness, Dave senior, Dave and Ian! Check my blog: http://khhchronicle.blogspot.com
22nd May 2007

Wow...
You see? I knew you weren't a wuss. I told everyone in the class that but they insisited. You've proved them wrong!!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb