Taking a Leap in Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
April 28th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On The Road Again, Off We Go To Queenstown




After our great couple of days in Franz Joseph, it was back in the car again with Mike as our fearless Captain (and I our First Mate) to our next destination - Queenstown. Queenstown is in the south middle of the country, on a lake and surrounded by mountains and is known for both its natural beauty and its cornucopia of adventure sports and activities. More on that later. While Franz Joseph had a certain icy cold beauty (haha, glacier) the drive to Queenstown really made Mike and I catch our breath and say “wow” at the scenery, for the first time since we’ve been on the south island. Mountains reaching for the sky stood next to brilliant green pastures with cows and sheep lazing in them while lakes reflected the beauty above and rivers snaked their way through the peaks and grasses. Absolutely gorgeous, it made us love NZ in a whole new way.

We arrived in Queenstown in the early afternoon and found a great little mini-apartment to stay in for the next 3 nights while we explored the area. The town is definitely a place full of backpackers and college-age kids all out to have a rush and a beer to follow. We were so excited by the concept of the mini-apartment and its accompanying fridge/sink/stove that we took the opportunity to eat at “home” instead of at a restaurant. We hit the local supermarket and then settled into our place for a night of TV, relaxing on the couch and making and eating dinner. So great to be comfortable like that, even half the world away.

Wow, I’m really going to do it!

Ever since I first read about New Zealand in our Lonely Planet book, I was intrigued by its history in one specific area . . . the birthplace of bungy jumping. Not only is it the first place bungy jumping was tried, it’s the most popular location worldwide and is known as the place to do it. I never thought before the trip it was something I’d really want to do, but the more I thought about it, I felt it would be a great challenge and a chance to do something truly adventurous. Unlike a roller coaster (or even the Swoop which I did in Rotorua), you have to personally make the choice to jump - no one can push or release you - it’s your call to jump with your only tie to safety being a line around your ankles.

When I got up the next morning I called the bungy office and booked a jump for that afternoon. I made the call before I could completely think about it; afterwards I wandered somewhat dazed into the bedroom and told Mike “I’m jumping today”. While I wanted to do it, the fear was very real and started to feel closer once I knew that it was in motion.

I chose to jump from the classic spot in Queenstown, the Kuwara Bridge. It’s the original jump spot for AJ Hackett Bungy, the NZ leader in bungy jumping and arguably the world leader as well. Moreover, it’s the first place where bungy jumping was done in the world. It’s a bridge 43 meters up (about 140 feet) spanning a running river. They’ve had thousands of jumps there which seemed to speak to its safety and it’s a classic bridge jump - what I had pictured in my mind.

After a good breakfast and a drive through more beautiful country, we arrived at the bridge and the bungy center. I wanted to go out to the viewing area and watch some other people jump before I checked in and paid my money, but Mike said no, I should just go ahead and do it. I’m really glad he said that, because if I had watched others first I may have lost my nerve!

I checked in and paid for the jump and they weighed me and had me sign the appropriate release forms. Not only do they print your weight in bold letters on your jump slip (they call it a toe tag, haha) but they write it in permanent red marker on your hand as well. Not the most dignified moment for a girl, but they really need to make sure you don’t fudge it - the length of the bungy rope is set purely on weight and if it’s off, you may end up hitting deep in the water or on the rocks bordering it on both sides. No good.

And now I wait to walk the plank

After I checked in, I kissed Mike goodbye (he went to the general viewing area to set up for photo taking, he’s the best) and headed out to the jump site to get in line for my jump. With every step I took closer to the jump I got more and more nervous and my heart started beating fast. Adrenaline on the move! There were a few people in front of me so I had to wait a bit on the bridge while other people jumped . . . every minute thinking “why am I out here? Am I crazy?” There were non-jumping people hanging out all over the bridge watching people jump and asking me “are you jumping?” When I said yes, they’d respond and say “oh, I could never do that!” - not the most encouraging thing for a girl waiting to jump off a bridge!

Interestingly enough, the guy who jumped directly before me did it absolutely stark naked. Not a stitch of clothing . . . anywhere. As it was about 45 degrees out, he was cold and to my thinking, a wee bit nuts. He’d done a jump before so he was full of advice and insight for me while we waited (he was kind enough to wait in his undies until the last minute - much appreciated!) The crowd definitely got into his jump and cheered and heckled him while he stood on the platform and made the jump. Mike and I were both amazed at his chutzpah and lack of fear of chafing (Mike especially on the latter).

When it came to my turn, they had me step into a loose harness around my waist and between my legs. It’s not a real link to the bridge, just a loose connection to the bungy cord in case my ties fail and I’m plummeting down - a bit of a back up plan. The only real connection to the bridge for me was a bunch of cords wrapped around a hand towel that was wrapped around my ankles. The rest of my body was completely unharnessed, my whole body weight was connected to the bridge by my ankles. Crazy!

Once they wrapped my ankles up and locked the cords into the bungy rope, they had me hobble out onto the little plank over the river (remember, my ankles are tied together!). I held onto a handle on the bridge as I looked down the 140+ feet at the river and they gave me my final instructions. My heart was pounding and I was scared - once again, I was thinking “am I crazy?” I had watched a few girls get out there before me who delayed and hesitated and couldn’t jump right away and I didn’t want to be that kind of person, but it was scary!

Thus, when the bungy team said “1,2,3 . . .” I jumped! They had confused me with last minute dive instructions so instead of my planned graceful swan dive I ended up doing a modified cannon ball, feet first down. Worked fine until I reached the end of the rope and my feet whipped out from under me and I did an impressive jack knife in the air, so my feet were now above my head and I was dangling from my ankles. The jack knife wrenched my back something fierce and my neck too but the rush as I fell was worth it! I bounced up/down a couple of times before I was done and it was such fun, one of the best times ever.

Once I was done bouncing, they lowered me into a rubber raft on the river and helped me extricate myself from the cord and harness. It was all over really fast as I said to the guy working on the raft - he rather dryly replied “doesn’t take too long to fall off a bridge.” Deep insights.

All in all, I was really proud of myself for doing it. I was scared but I didn’t hesitate a bit, just jumped and did it. I watched a girl after me stand on the platform for an eon before giving up and wimping out. It made me really happy that I faced the fear and jumped. And the rush, it was awesome! It’s one of those things I’ll remember for a long time and smile a little bit inside.

Hope you’re all doing great and maybe doing something a little bit crazy & fun this week!

Note from Mike : I too am proud of Kel. Like she said above, she didn’t hesitate a bit. Her jump was less than graceful but that doesn’t matter. What matters is that she did it. For those of you that think of Kel as just a sweet girl, she’s got
Post BungyPost BungyPost Bungy

A little dazed but exhilarated!
a wild side and this proves it.






Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Kuwara BridgeKuwara Bridge
Kuwara Bridge

The full view of the bridge & river where Kel jumped
Naked Guy Post JumpNaked Guy Post Jump
Naked Guy Post Jump

This guy bungy jumped naked, crazy!
Lake WanakaLake Wanaka
Lake Wanaka

And a dead sexy photographer in the foreground


7th May 2007

WAY TO GO!
Kel! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! I've followed along from Day One of your trip, and have been "wowed" many a time by both of your adventures but this one definitely required a reply. You did an amazing thing. Mike, your photographic account of the jump is wonderful; as is all of your photo journal. I continue to enjoy seeing the world through your lense. The photos of Lake Wanaka are breath-taking. Continued fun times to you both.
7th May 2007

Kel, you definitely get the gold medal for this one!!! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. =)
7th May 2007

Kel, I’m not sure that I knew you had that in you. Just the thought of it gets my heart pounding. So-o scary . . . yet so very cool, once it’s done. Darling girl, you continue to amaze me! Mom
2nd January 2009

Well Done, Indeed!
Again, apologies for my belated comments....Alas, well done on the jump. Although I jumped in town, we did have the opportunity to visit the Kuwara site.....watched a few jumpers there and then took one of those INSANE jet boat rides. They literally drive you within feet (possibly inches - I think I got a haircut from one particular boulder) of the cliffs. As with the bungy jump, glad I did it, but never again!

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb