Adventures in the Sky!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
April 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Queenstown is a place I will certainly return - a beautiful, lakeside town, tucked in the mountains. This is the adventure capital of the world - and Rachelle and I couldn't resist getting involved!

Rachelle conquered the Canyon Swing, a bungee Swing that drops you straight down into a canyon before swinging you out - a terrifically scary experience! She screamed until she had no breath left. This morning however, she conquered all fear of heights by doing THE NEVIS - this is the World's 3rd Largest Bungee Jump (one advertisement warns, "Whatever you do don't look down!" This "suicidal-like leap" entails a nerve-racking gondola ride to a suspended platform and an 134 meter dive into a rocky canyon towards the river below - what an empowering accomplishment! - she's been buzzing ever since! Go Rachelle!

I set out to for a far more tamer sky adventure, to conquer my fear of heights, I did a tandem hang glide from 2,000 feet up above the mountains of Queenstown, and, wow, I've been buzzing ever since! This was the rush for me. It was surreal, breathtaking, and I had the feeling that I was flying with the world below me!
Hang GlidingHang GlidingHang Gliding

About to run off a cliff . . . here we go!
A truly choice way to get from the top of a mountain to the ground - I recommend it highly! (pun intended)

After one last night of celebrating with our Kiwi-made friends, awww, we head to Christchurch in the morning . . .





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Nevis DiveNevis Dive
Nevis Dive

Free fall . . .
Nevis Bungee JumpNevis Bungee Jump
Nevis Bungee Jump

Nervous before the Nevis
Pre-HanglidePre-Hanglide
Pre-Hanglide

Like a Kid in a Candy Store
Queenstown, South IslandQueenstown, South Island
Queenstown, South Island

Some of our Kiwi friends did this bungee jump - wow
Queenstown, Adventure CapitalQueenstown, Adventure Capital
Queenstown, Adventure Capital

This is a place I will return


7th April 2007

Unbounded Adventures
The sky doesn't seem to be the limit for you gals! Kudos to you both for pushing the envelope. I sure wish I had had the chutzpah to do the things you do when I was your age. For some reason, I thought you would be winding down at this point, but I see that you're ratcheting up! Our little thrill-seekers are still at it. Bunkin says, "Eeerrr." (He sure makes some funny noises.) He hangs out with me here at the computer. He likes it when I open the blinds so he can sit on the desk and see out the window (he also likes to walk over the keyboard and lie down on the mouse). Everyday, while I'm having my coffee fix, he comes to get me to open the back door for him. Even Squeakers likes to go outside (I saw her stalking some birds the other day...it was amusing, but I called to her and scared the birds away). I trust that you'll find something (or have found something) wild to do in Christchurch today. Laissez les bontemps rollez! Love you, Deb

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb