Ducks in a row


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and the mixerMe and the mixerMe and the mixer

Working hard...nice hat too.
Hello All !!!

How's it going? Things here are going alright, I can't complain. This last week I've been working tons. The plastering job is going well, we're on the second coat now and should be done in about 6 working days. The boss goes out of town Thursday so I'll have a few days to relax. The dishes are still being washed. The job is better than I thought it would be. I get a free meal when I work, which is 6 nights a week. The food isn't that good, but it keeps me alive.

I spent most of this past weekend sleeping. The days go by so fast. I get up at 7 and work till maybe 5. I start washing dishes at 6 and that goes until 8:30 or 9. I usually curl up on our "couch" and watch a movie and then go to bed. My roommates are cool. The "staff" accomodation is a little messy because no one ever cleans it. I like it now though. I have four roommates at the moment. A Japanese guy, Brazilian guy (he speaks Spanish too, so I can practice a little bit) and we also have
Wash those dishesWash those dishesWash those dishes

I haven't done laundry in three weeks!!!
a guy and a girl from England. The English guy just moved in today, so I don't really know him yet.

When at the plastering gig we listen to the radio all day. The rock station here plays Guns'n'Roses, Pearl Jam, U2 or Foo Fighters. Which is alright..just strange, I never heard a lot of GNR at home. Some ok bands to check out....Eskimo Joe (not sure on the spelling) I think the song is called "Sarah". Also, Razorlite....."America", it's kind of chessy and I'm not sure if they're taking the Mickey out of America or not (making fun of). Oh, and also a Kiwi band called The Tutts, they have a song called "Kay"...I think that's the title, something like that. The song isn't that good, doesn't seem to have a chorus. I like the guitar line though. I think they're on myspace.

Sunday I went down to the lake for my third job, playing guitar. Despite the rain, it went ok. I make $7.90....not bad for my first time. I hope to do that on the weekends and make some extra money.

Mom sent my memory card for my camera so I can load some
my bed and tvmy bed and tvmy bed and tv

We get a movie channel and some other local rubbish. NZ news isn't the most exciting. It is fun to watch some British programming..such as, "Ian White's Unfit Kids". In which, Ian White, former football star, tried to train "larger, unfit" kids into developing an active and healthy lifestyle. Oh, it's a hoot.
pictures. I only have two at the moment...maybe three. I'll get some more of the town when the weather is better, this weekend was cloudy and raining.

Talk to you later. brett


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

the rest of the roomthe rest of the room
the rest of the room

We have really plush furnishings. At first, I was a bit let down at the sight and condition of my new room...it being messy and all. Then I realized I'm messy, we'll get along fine...and we have.


27th January 2007

???
You need a new travel agent.
10th February 2007

Awesome
Hey Bretty. It sounds as if life is good. Thanks for the updates! I like the pictures, too. If you get bored, feel free to look me up. :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb