Everything I didn't tell you in the last three weeks


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
November 28th 2023
Published: November 28th 2023
Edit Blog Post

It's been three weeks and I had the beginning of a new psts sitting in my drafts for like half that time. Anyway here a rundown of the things that happend since the Milford Sound cruise:
I lost my wallet in Milford Sound and only noticed after we had driven two hours out of the national park. 16 hours later I got it back thanks to really nice Australiens that brought it to the next Police station.
Another day later we made our way to Queenstown. Ina spend thursday afternoon charging her portable charger in a cafe for her hike and I walked around Queenstown.
In a bakery I found german multigrain bread that after two months of toast almost brought me to tears. Besides that I won a 50 dollar discount for indoor skydiving, which I then did on friday while Ina started her three day hike.
On saturday I took the gondola up to Queenstown Skylina for a zipline tour. We went back downhill over six ziplines including the stepest zipline in the world that gets up to 70km/h fast. This tour was also very educative, because inbetween ziplines the guides explain a lot about the local ecosystem and sustainability. During dinner I had a really nice chat with people at the hostel and then went to see the new marvel movie in the local cinema. I highly recommend.
Sunday I followed up with some job applications I had send out during the Weekend since I decided I wanted to stay in Queenstown fir a longer period of time and recieved an offer to work at a hostel that I gladly took. After Ina returned from her hike we went out to try the famous Ferg Burgers: best burger I've ever had.
Over the next week we made our way to Christchurch with stops at Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo.
At Mt Cook we spent the morning in a cafe waiting for better weather to go on a 3h return hike to a lake. The rain ende and we only had to fight the havy wind while hiking, but stayed dry this time.
When we arrived in Christchurch that Thursday we spent the afternoon at the beach and went to an irish pub later that night where we met two other german girls that turned out to have been on the same plane to new Zealand as me.
Friday we went on a little shopping trip and walked around the City before I went to a Taylor Swift themed party that night. That was definetly one of the most fun nights of my life to date.
On saturday Ina made her way to the West coast while I stayed in Christchurch for another night taking the Intercity bus back to Queenstown on sunday. The busride was supposed to be eight hours, after twelve I was back at the busstop in Christchurch where I started that morning. There was a fatal accident on the road that lead to it being close for most of the day, but we only found that out after we had already driven four hours towards Queenstown and then it took a few hours or waiting until the decided to turn back around to Christchurch. I got a refund for my Ticket and took the bus the next day. Originally I es supposed to start working that day but because my IRD (tax ID) didn't come through in time I did woofing in Frankton (near Queenstown) for five days with a really nice family.
A few days ago I moved into the hostel I work at. My collegues/roommates are super nice and imedeatly invited me to join their activity planed that afternoon. So I delayed grocerie shopping and went hiking with them.
While I waited for the bus back to the hostel after buying groceries I ean into a girl I met in Christchurch. She is also starting work in Queenstown and we are now gym buddies. Yep I go to the gym now.
I've also found myself another job at a Restaurant so I can get a full 40 hours of work per week.
I had my first indoor skydiving catching session to learn to fly on my own and do fun tricks.
Besides that I started work today and am trying to build myself a good routine.
That's it for today.
Good night,
Giovanna

(Oh and I got my ears pierced)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb