So This Is Christmas


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queen Charlotte Sound
December 25th 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It is Christmas time and in the southern hemisphere things are strange. No snow, no cold, less decorations, less Christmas music (which is a good thing). This is only my second Christmas in my life that I have been away from family and close friends. Am I lonely? Well, I would say no but I would really like to have Christmas dinner with the friends and family that I love. But with it being summer here, it feels nothing like Christmas.

Christmas at my home consists of an over abundance of food, a house completely full of my relatives (which results in an abundance of shouting and laughing), an over abundance of wood on the fire (which results in many pairs of red cheeks) and an over abundance of rum, beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks (which also adds to the shouting, laughing and red cheeks). So what does a person do with the lack of these Christmas essentials? Well you create your own temporarily family with other people in a similar situation. For example a few of us at work decided to go into Picton before Christmas to enjoy one last day of leisure time before we get busy at work. So on Sunday we found ourselves at the waterfront in Picton, sipping on cool beers in the summer sunshine, playing the guitar and singing. The day held many random moments and strange new meetings with people. Later that evening with our bellies full of curry and our blood well thinned we went to the Irish bar. We drank til closing time and just laughed the evening away.

Talks of a kitchen staff party were around the resort for awhile now but with an unconfirmed day. Turns out Tuesday was the new scheduled day. So Tuesday some co-workers and I were being whisked out the Queen Charlotte Sound in the evenings last moments of light in a speeding water taxi headed for Picton. We went to the Irish bar once again and drank til closing time. We had a blast. Our bad kitchen jokes re-appearing all night. Along with a round of Christmas songs chanted by a few staff . The next morning we caught the boat back to work and found ourselves in the kitchen with the music very low and big mugs of water in front of us smiling about last nights adventures.

After my hung-over day at work, I slept. About 12 hours into my rest I was awoke to the sound of somebody knocking on my door. It was my friend Ben, who was telling me about the kayaking plans that I had made with him. The day was beautiful, it was Christmas Eve and what else was there to do? So shortly after rolling out of bed I was paddling across the Kenepuru Sound. I had a hard time getting a rhythm with my paddling but eventually got it. The setting we paddled through is just plain beautiful. We even spotted what we thought was a dolphin that had surfaced, but after paddling over to the sight and waiting, nothing happened. We paddled to look for a little beach to enjoy a picnic in the sunshine. The only problem was that we forgot about bringing food, so we enjoyed some peanut bars and beer. We just sat enjoying the peacefulness of the location, sipping warm beers and just chatting. The paddle back was many times shorter (or so it seemed) we had some rhythm in our paddles and very little wind.

Once back on land, some beers and guitar on the balcony. Then off to a staff Christmas meal which consisted of ham, roast chicken, roast pumpkin, roast potatoes, coleslaw and some free drinks. We followed this up with some hard core games of volleyball. Then some beers on the balcony with the guitar.

Today is Christmas Day and I am off to work. It feels like any other day. I remember last Christmas when I said next year I will be someplace warm next year. And here I am. I got sunshine but no Christmas. I have had some fun over the last few days. Shared moments with some really great people. I am thankful to be in my shoes and I am thankful that people love and miss me back home. Merry Christmas to everyone and I hope you all make the most in the shoes that you wear this holiday season. Happy Holidays!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



26th December 2009

MISS YOU
HEY duff, merry christmass <3 i am at your house, and your gettin a tan :) i stood infront of your side door, stating that I will be somewhere warm next year, lol hope it works for me like it did you!!Just wanted to let yah no we all miss you and are happy your enjoying life and seeing the world :) Keep on having fun and watch out for those killer whales...ps i think you might loose ur room to Brett jk <3
26th December 2009

Xmas!!!
Merry Christmas!!!!!! Glad you enjoyed yourself over xmas lil bro, you were missed here though. I must say I'm a lil bit envious of the no snow thing, lol. Talk to ya soon!!!
13th January 2010

Very cool your Christmas post!!!! I miss you my blues brother!!! Cya!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb