Goodbyes & The South Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The South to Nelson


February

Sunday, 1st
I packed my backpack and cleaned my flat and said a sad goodbye to everyone at El Rancho. It has been a life changing experience for me. I've met some amazing people and made some new friends. Thank you all for making my time here truly memorable and for all the knowledge and experiences. You will be sorely missed!

Aimee gave me a ride to the train station in Paraparaumu and I got on the train to Wellington. On the train I reflected on the road past and the road that lies ahead. With sadness and excitement I arrived in Wellington.

I spent my last night with Clive, Lize and Maryke. Clive whipped up a stunning seafood pasta and we had a last couple of beers.

I realized I hadn't booked my ferry ticked for the next day, that's how relaxed I've become with traveling!


Monday, 2nd
I said goodbye to Clive & Lize, and again, thank you for everything you've done for me. You've really made me feel welcome and at home. See you again soon!

I checked in and boarded the Interislander ferry at 10:00. We set sail, ha ha ha, at 10:25, on the 3 hour journey to Picton and the unknown.

I've made no plans, made no bookings, all I know is that I'd really like to see Queenstown and Christchurch. As I sit there I compare my first ferry trip to the Corromandel to this one and I have no fears. I've grown truly comfortable in the knowledge that God has me firmly in his hands and that he will provide for me and direct my feet where I should go.

The scenery on the south Island and Marlboroug Sounds is amazing! The water is so blue and the country side so green. Hills and cliffs everywhere, it really is amazing.

Three hours later we arrive in Picton. It's a cute little town, apparently it's mostly there as port and accommodation, rental cars and camper vans.

After deboarding, it sounds more official than it is, I pickup my backpack and head out.

Outside I ran into "rental car alley". I quickly considered the pro's and con's of a rental and decided that since I'm pretty well under budget that I'd rent a cheapy for a couple of days. I picked Bargain Rentals, talked to the clerk and took a couple of minutes to deceide and soon drove off in a Nissan Sunny.

I left Picton and made my way to Nelson thought the Marlborough Sounds, the scenic route... obviously! The roads here are twisty and slow. The speed limit is 100km per hour and I think I only reached that once or twice on my way to Nelson. Most of the time you crawl along at 50! The scenery was totally worth it though! I found myself stopping every 20 minutes to snap off a few pictures.

Two and a half hours later I arrived in Nelson. It's a really pretty town and I soon found a campsite with an ocean view, the Tahuna Beach Holiday Park.

I pitched camp and decided to head into town and go hunting for some refreshments and spot of the kernel's chicken. I ran into a sixer of Export Gold and a box of wicked wings. I've been warned that the chicken is not as good as back home, but I just couldn't resist.

The chicken was fantastic and with an ocean view, a slice of bread and a beer, I felt like a king!

After dinner I took a walk on the beach, I've realized that I'm a sea person and that Gauteng would not be my home for much longer when I return. Wherever I go, I need to be close to the sea, I've been close to the sea now for two months and I still can't get enough!

I sat down on the sand and gave my baby a call. We spent quite a while on the phone, it was the best phone call I've ever had, I just wish she could have sat there on the sand next to me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb