Sore Feet


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The View from Welcome FLatThe View from Welcome FLatThe View from Welcome FLat

The view from Welcome Flat
I'm spending the day relaxing in Nelson. Stayed in bed until 9.30am - a record for this trip!! And I enjoyed every minute of it.

SInce I last wrote I have spent two days 'tramping' through rainforest ('bush'), up the Copland track. I was determined to spend at least one night staying out in a DOC hut - and it was worth it. The route was 17km through forest, and along the Copland river. Then several km up a mountain, to a clearing called the Welcome Flat. The views up here were (yet again) spectacular - lots of snow capped mountains. The highlight was natural hot springs with a mountain view. The best thing in the world after 7 hours of walking - like getting into a hot bath. ALmost perfect. Apart from the sand flies. There were 10 other people staying up there too - all of them nice, and we had a very relaxing evening. The hut warden is a Canadian girl who spends 10 days at a time living there - with no electricity, no shower, no phone - and 17km trek back to the road!!

By the time I got back to Fox the next day, my feet were really suffering. My 'fantastic' walking shoes, which I had been hoping would wear in, just rubbed me to pieces. I now have a black toenail, and it hurts.... Plus about 100 hundred sandfly bites. And a sore knee. I have spent today applying tiger balm, antihistamine, fucibet, taking cetirizine - anything I can think of.... Was still worth it though.

Yesterday was just a travelling day - 10 hours on a bus from Fox to Nelson, with a short stop at the 'Pancake Roacks' in Punakiki on the way. I'm staying at a lovely small, friendly backpackers in Nelson, called the green monkey. Have done my washing - very satisfying!! Have really enjoyed having a mundane day... SPent lots of money as just bought very comfortable new walking shoes (mum you'll be glad to know they were in the sale...!!), and new sun glasses as I just dropped the old ones (look much more stylish now).

Nelson would be a good place to live, for anyone thinking of emigrating... Its got lots of culture - went to the Suter Art Centre this morning - which had some really interesting Maori inspired paintings and music, + a great little cafe, where I had my best meal so far. + its close to lots of beautiful national parks, mountains and coast. When I get sick of Harrogate...

ANyway, I've drivelled on for long enough. I'm going to go and buy some food (a bit sick of my attempts at cooking in hostels, pasta, pasta, pasta), then watch the sun set from the Japenese Gardens. Back to activities tomorrrow with a Kayeking trip to Abel Tasmin National Park, and a 6am start...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb