Takaka!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent a few nights in Christchurch arranging for a rental car and getting things in order - shipped a few Sout Pole Pint glasses home and caught up on some good food. My second night at the Devon Hotel was spent on the Inn Keeper's floor. Sandy didnt have any available room for Saturday night but she let me crash anyway. My friends from SFO, Sam and Jenny, got into Christchurch on Sunday and were shocked to see me there waiting for them. We didnt think we were going to catch each other but my early flight out of McMurdo put me in Christchurch at just the right time. The three of us roamed around mostly eating and drinking our way through town and taking naps in between.

We went to the Volcano in Lyttleton Monday night for dinner, and made our way over to the awesome wunderbar accross the street for some pool.

I spent all day Tuesday driving from Christchurch up to Takaka. The drive was really long but It was sunny and warm and Highway 1 follows the coastline all the way up the island. I arrived in Takaka around 9:30 pm after 9 hours
Overlooking Lyttleton HarborOverlooking Lyttleton HarborOverlooking Lyttleton Harbor

Lyttleton is a really sweet port town
on the road and made my way to Shambhala Hostel about 15km outside of town. This place is really fantastic. I have had a bed in a 4 bed room for $26 kiwi a night, with a window overlooking the gardens and the ocean. The beach is a 3 minute walk down the hill, and I was able to get into a yoga class in the meditation room last night. I met another American, also named Jeff who happens to be from Kansas City. I asked him by chance if he new a kid named Todd - well it turns out he and Todd Hetrick (friend from College) are good friends from Kansas City. Crazy. We went over to the Mussel Inn for some live music and beer. The place was packed, what a great scene all at a stop on the side of the highway.

I am meeting Abby and Jenna tonight at the Mussel Inn and we are going to make plans for Mimi's arrival to New Zealand.

More soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

WunderbarWunderbar
Wunderbar

Such an awesome little joint
Wunderbar lightingWunderbar lighting
Wunderbar lighting

yes those are doll faces
On my way to TakakaOn my way to Takaka
On my way to Takaka

I had this view most of the way up
LunchLunch
Lunch

The view from the deck of The Store in Kekerengui
The StoreThe Store
The Store

This place is really great - just off the side of the highway - great food
Tree HousesTree Houses
Tree Houses

I thought this place I passed was really cool although they charge $500 kiwi to sleep in a treehouse for a night. Not so cool.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb