The Milford Track


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Milford Sound
February 16th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Some pics to tie over those impatient readers. (well, the impatience is fully justified since i am sooo far behind on my writings.....sorry 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Flood markersFlood markers
Flood markers

It pretty common for the trail to flood so they've put up markers to keep track of the trail. Sometimes even the markers are covered in water....gulp
Blue DucksBlue Ducks
Blue Ducks

One of the rarest ducks in the world. Only found in NZ and rarely spotted by trampers! I guess we got lucky!
WekaWeka
Weka

Native NZ bird, pretty common to see since they like to scavenge off trampers food!
Mckinnen PassMckinnen Pass
Mckinnen Pass

In the morning before hiking up the pass. Luckily by the time I got to the top all the clouds had cleared!
The top!!!The top!!!
The top!!!

Mckinnen Pass in all it's glory.
U shaped valleys!U shaped valleys!
U shaped valleys!

Shaped by glaciers. This is the valley I hiked up the previous day.
The swimming holeThe swimming hole
The swimming hole

The beautiful little swimming spot next to our last hut. The water was FREEZING!!!
Yaniv!Yaniv!
Yaniv!

Our nightly card game! Somehow all three nights I ended up winning! hehe


27th March 2009

What do ya know
And here I was looking on facebook for little tid bits about your travels. Man was I amazed to finally take a good look at your blog. There is so much that we don't even come close to talking about when on the phone for our 10 minute intervals. I am not going to lie I did a little skimming, and did not realize how much I have missed. I will do this subscribing thing and hope to get all the juicy details over the next few months....year! Miss ya!! Spicy beans, and of course SOMETHING

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb