Devine Wine


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Blenheim
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, my crossing of the Cook Straight went well and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery. It took 3 hours to cross so I was able to get in a movie on the way over. It was cold, I thought about how much this reminded me at lease of a winter day in Canada.
I decided that I wanted to see what working on a vineyard was like. So I stayed at a lovely hostel called the Grapevine and contacted a contractor to get a job picking grapes. I get picked up every morning (unless it's raining) and get driven out with about 50+ people to several different wineries. Once there, you partner up with someone (a nice fellow Canadian for me) and you both work on sections of the vines, cutting the bunches of grapes off. You just have to be careful not to cut your fingers while doing this. It's really not bad work, at least not as bad as packing apples! I get to be outside, and am surrounded by a really nice mountain range. Plus, it's not as cold as I thought it would be down here, so I'm crashing in the van to save money and move on as soon as I can. So, if you're in the mood for a nice Pinot Noir, buy one from the Marlborough Region and I will be much pleased. I know for a fact that I won't be turned off wine, like I still am with apples. I'm planning on staying here maybe 2 weeks, but we will see. Blenheim is pretty nice, a lot of wine tours, so it makes me feel a little like home. Population of the town is about 20,000, so it's not too shabby. All the creature comforts, McDonald's ect......
Sadly, today it rained so I have the day off. Just cruising around town, feeling the place out. I'm glad to say they have a movie theatre and a really nice place where I can go work out and swim, and only for $3! What a steal. I swear I'm turning in a true Dutchwoman, cheap as anything! Haha!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.2003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb