Peace Out Tekapo!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
October 10th 2009
Published: October 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

They are certain situations that you find yourself in when living on the road. One is the constant good byes that have to be said. And this is the situation that I find myself in once again. I have been in Lake Tekapo for nearly 4 months and have met some great people and have shared some great times with them. We kept each other occupied on boring days, road tripped and celebrated together. Not to mention the dinner parties, house parties, days on the slopes, movie nights, day hikes and even guitar sessions at the lake. Looking back at my time in this town I remember the good times, the smiles and the laughter. I do remember the days of cabin fever, when the town was covered in snow, the days short and the nights long. Those were the days that I dreamed of sunshine and pleasant weather.

As happens on the road each good bye is accompanied by a white lie of “see you again, when I...” or “I will come visit....”. Maybe its just easier that way. All I know is that my good byes have been scattered over the last few weeks as friends of mine have been leaving. So now I just have a few more good byes to do, a few more handshakes, a few more hugs and a few more white lies to tell.

One thing I did learn is that good byes are not so difficult if you have something to look forward to. And I have a lot to look forward to as Raphael and I are picking up our camper-van in Christchurch on Monday. Let the adventure begin. We have very few plans and 17 days to accomplish them in. So we are relying on spontaneity to keep us busy but not too busy. The backpack is sitting by my door, all I need to do is throw my last few belongings into it, grab my guitar then I am as good as gone. The feelings of excitement are growing each day. Restless is a word I would use to describe myself, others would use that word to describe me also. The bag is packed and I am ready to go. Good bye to the “Tekapo Life” (as all us travellers call it here). Peace out and see you again when I......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb