Photos more than words


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
January 8th 2006
Published: January 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In Queenstown. Just culled my photos via hookup onto this computer. Have actually snapped some 300. Have significantly reduced this sum. Have decided this will be a photo essay. More than my words. If I can resist... But what I will say, mmm, too much temptation to say too much.... Queenstown overwhelmed me on arrival - it is very tourist orientated - a shame. The view from my hostel, yes, I got the last double bed room available... is fantastic, notwithstanding the ugly plethora of apartments/ motels on the hillside overlooking the lake and mountains to our left... anyway, Deco's Backpackers - me - is up on high, quiet, a peaceful view, reflective moments beckon with the outlook.

The scenery today and yesterday was magnificent, awesome, stark, lush, varied, even a bit frightening (the mountain ranges and managing roads that were windy, near to the edge and just above plunging crevices). After a bit of a dip in emotional state afternoon yesterday - tired, longish driving hours, missing a bit of other company - I picked up via early evening photo shoots of sheep and dear - !! - and a visit to a supermarket in the lovely named Geraldine, a friendly little, non touristy spot... interesting - successful - therapy!

Okay, photos...

p.s. Mount Cook wonderful - what I could see
p.s.2 Lake Tekopa peaceful and the little church on lakes edge amazing
p.s.3 chicken burger at Fergburger's tonite worth the wait
p.s.4 saw wedding party in C/church yesterday and the bridesmaids had lovely - I mean it - lime green dresses and the cooolest - i really mean it - lime green shoes with red splotches - ladies, you would truly have been impressed.

ciao

Bernard

note: problem unknown with photo attaching; may be blog w/out photo and all words!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb