Lake Tekapo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lake Tekapo is a very small town situated around a beautiful lake with mountains all around. Our hostel was right on the lake front and had the best views of all those I've been to. It had a cosy log fire in the lounge and had a cat called Neffe which I fell in love with. It was so nice to have cuddles by the fire, she really made me feel at home! So anyway, after a lot of non stop travelling, late nights and early mornings it was great to be able to relax for a couple of days here.

Me and my friend Vikki decided to climb Mount John to get views of the town, lake and mountains. It was very cold with ice and snow around which made the walk interesting! I took us just under an hour to climb up and the views were definitely worth it. Although I would have paid to be driven back down I was pretty tired after going up! Especially as a French guy from our hostel tagged along and he was so fit he just kind of raced ahead and made me feel like I had to keep up the pace- despite the fact I felt as though I was dying!

We made it anyway and the rest of the day we just kept warm by the fire and played cards. I also read a bit of my book and of course kept the cat company! Going to Christchurch next for a couple of days before I fly back to Oz and then HOME! I can't believe I'll be home now in less than a week. Looking forward to some sunshine and warm weather (never thought that sentence would be used describing England!). Also looking forward to seeing you all again. Lots of love to everyone x x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Perfect- a log fire and sleeping catPerfect- a log fire and sleeping cat
Perfect- a log fire and sleeping cat

the hostel lounge- very cosy!


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb