The Night of the Stars


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Mahinapuha
December 1st 2015
Published: December 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Drove to Lake Manihipua last night (not really sure how to spell it to be honest). Pretty scenic drives now down the west coast of the south island. The ocean on one side and the southern Alps on the other. Not very many people around at all. There are more people in Auckland than the whole south island.

Had a big party last night. The theme was to dress up as something that starts with the first letter of your first name. I couldn't think of any good costumes. Had a couple ideas like jedi, jock, Jesus, Julius Caesar, but ended up buying a stuffed horse, carrying it around with me and saying I was a jockey. The party was pretty wild - not really my scene. I was cleaning up at the pool table they had in the back room.

Finally had enough of the party but my room was right next to the bar, so wouldn't be able to sleep. Decided to take a stroll to the beach with a couple people and just enjoy the quiet. It was a perfectly clear night and the stars were absolutely incredible. It was the first time I can remember seeing the milky way, I saw 3 shooting stars. Think we laid there for about an hour just entranced by all the stars. Wish I had a sleeping bag and would have slept there all night.

Arriving at Franz Joseph pretty soon where I'll be spending 2 days. It's a huge glacier that you can climb and do some walks around. The weather isn't very nice, so don't think I'll be doing any glacier climbing but maybe some scenic walks or hikes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb