Haast Pass & Sandflies


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Haast Pass
January 15th 2004
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Jackson I hammer up the superb roads towards Queenstown. The roads and scenery are great but very twisty and hard work so there is no way I will make Queenstown tonight so its another night in the sticks for me. The road goes on forever and I feel guilty because it deserves more respect as it twists and bucks left and right as it gauges its way though the rock and the Haast Valley. I eventually concede and pull into a camping ground about 6.30.

Its a fantastic location and I pitch my tent looking to the west from the direction of Jackson and the setting sun. Theres a good breeze here keeping the sandflies away but not for long. I has hoped to make Wannaka but this place is great apart from the sandflies.

Queenstown, the adrenalin capital of New Zealand where AJ Hackett became famous for his bungies.

I came into town via the Crown Range which is a superb piece of road and stopped at the village of Cadrona on the way where I had some good grub and a cool beer. This is the life and wish I could stay longer but would come back this way in about a weeks time. There are great views over Queenstown and Arrowtown from the summit before you descend down Zig Zag Hill.

I find a campsite just outside town on the road, its a bit basic, and dont' mention the toilets what ever you do.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb