South Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Greymouth
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I have not written in a while. That is mostly directed to you mom. I have been nice a relaxed in the last 12 days since my activity filled North island adventures. Well actually I havent written since Taupo so there is still more of the North island to talk about!
After Taupo the bus took us, (us being Erika and me and the posse of Europeans that we have befriended along the way) to the Tongeriro crossing, which is in the National park they cal the National Park. It was an amazing walk, hard hike but so many great views and diverse scenery. Oh yeah did I mention it was where MT DOOM was from Lord of the Rings fame and It also looks like Mordor. There was so many things to see, the hike is through active volcanos so there was geothermic activity everywhere and crazy lakes and crators. It took 7 hours to hike it and was 18 km. After Tongeriro I rushed down to and through Wellington, not intentionally but rather because there was a big rugby event going on and there was litealy no accomadations for me. From what i saw it was good little city, In the 14 hours I was there I went to the national museum and on a pub crawl, it was a whirlwind stop.
Down to the south, expensive ferry, and a hot bus with a driver who was a little sketchy. (More on that later) But the South seems pretty nice, I stayed in Nelson for 5 nights, a lovely nice little town, in fact Erika decided to stay there and got a job at some Cafe. There was a great pub in nelson, I think i fell in love with it, it was a brewery and let you sample the beer before you order a pint, then when they close you can take a two liter bottle and fill it up with your favorite.
Back to reality, I have now moved on alone, but thats ok I still got money and dont need to work yet like Erika muahha. I was in another National Park called Abel Tasman for 3 days and there was some amazing beaches, I went on a full day sailling trip and it was awesome. Now back to the sketchy bus driver, he ended up crashing the bus after I hopped off and killing a women from great britain. Glad I hopped off!
I am runnning out of Internet time, But I am in Greymouth, I hitch hiked here with a british girl named Viki and a guy named Richard we were in Barrytown the night before...populatin 25...and the bus had a overbooking problem so we saved some people some headaches and found our own way. More fun this way I got to say. Tour bus is noce for some things, but kind of sucks being structured. OK got to go bye!

Advertisement



9th February 2008

Hey Tim! Wow, sounds like you're going all over so fast-like! Must say, I'm happy you got off the bus with the sketchy driver, too. hahaha WOW.
10th February 2008

take-out beer!!!!!!
yep - glad ur still with us! ...stoopid sketchy bus drivers! ...and why can't they make it so pubs can offer take-out beer in canada too, eh?! i mean, we're known for beer!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb