I see cold people


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day- 20 Heli hiking the Franz Josef Glacier

We arrived at the heli-hike centre and got kitted up with some thick woolly socks and some stinky rubber boots which weighed a ton. The helicopter ride on the way up took us over the top of the glacier and did some sharp turns and dips before landing us with the rest of our group ready to start the hike a bit further down. The glacier is much bigger than it looks in any picture and has to be walked to be experienced although Lisa found this hard when she put her foot through the ice in a crevasse and got caught up in her crampons tearing her trousers! But apart from this soggy mishap the hike was unforgettable and though costly something you don't want to miss out on. Little left to say as the pictures say more than we can!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



12th April 2008

Brrrrrr
Fabulous photographs. I love the contrast between the ice and the blue sky. I hope Lisa is OK. Stay safe.
13th April 2008

i see cold people
really impressive photo views guys. well done lisa - proves that genetically you can fall over anywhere and did it have any bearing on a suspected earthquake in the northern hemisphere???? xx
13th April 2008

your off my christmas card list
I officially denounce my Irish heritage from this moment onwards...and its not that I fell, it was more that I put my foot in the bit with more water than ice.....as for the other comment, which one of you do I have to beat on my return? If you want to avoid a beating please forward money to my next stop and I will stay out here for as long as it lasts.....
17th April 2008

indeeee
your like the indiana jones of the 21st century :)
17th April 2008

WOW - What A Trip!!!!!!!!
Trust you Lisa to take your own version of "Toe'd in the Hole". Seriously - good on you guys - I can see that you're having the time of your lives - take care and remember we all love and miss you - gill XXXXXXXXXXXXX
23rd April 2008

I'm my mothers daughter.....
Hey what can I say it can only happen to me, if there is a hole to fall down I'm gonna find it! Had some issues accessing the internet but at the airport on the way to the US so hopefully will be able to up load our blog details for the past week or so soon....Keep reading guys!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb