last installment


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
January 22nd 2018
Published: January 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Akaora to Franz Joseph via Arthurs Pass in torrential rain




I think the place between Arthurs Pass and Franz Joseph may well be the most beautiful scenery ever - sadly the rain only allowed us to glimpse the tiniest part of it. I do have to say it is spectacular to drive along roads that have waterfalls crashing down onto them. Even if the 100 to 200 foot drops off the side of the road in torrential rain was terrifying. We also drove through clouds which was both weird and cool. I will have to go back to see how stunning this scenery really is because the sneak previews were stunning.

Franz Joseph to Queenstown via Wanaka




Another day of just driving through amazing county-side with no time to stop and enjoy it. I will be going back to all 3 destinations in order to be able to tell you how great it all is - Franz Joseph and Wanaka both have lots to do but I didn't stay there long enough to say anything other than the scenery is stunning. There were views of seas and lakes and mountains to discuss but it all went past just a little too quickly

last night in Queenstown




So we booked a twin room for my last night in NZ as a good nights sleep seemed to be in order. Lucky us we were upgraded to a twin suite. 2 Huge king sized beds with views across the bay, 2 bathrooms (with large baths and massaging showers), dinning room for 6, living room, kitchen, outside dinning area for 6. And it was all rather lovely allowing us to use the sauna, steam-room, Jacuzzi and inside pool before we had to check out at 12.

What I did and what I learnt




I learnt 3 weeks is no where long enough for NZ and I will try and go back next year and the year after and if not done the year after that and I will go for longer each time. I also learnt that NZ is very similar and very different to the UK and it is really hard to define the difference.

What I did for the first time included:

1. Bungy jump (I will never ever ever do that again - but I may do the swing - I also did a zip line)

2. I Luged (little go-carty things)

3. I went on a gondola

4. I went on a chair life (same as a ski-lift)

5. I saw underground waterfalls for the first time

6. I sailed in an underground cave

7. I saw glow worms

8. I swam with dolphins

9. I saw a wild albatross

10. I was in the water with a penguin

11. I saw my first ever Kiwi

12. It was my first time in NZ

13. It was my first trip to Oceania (Austral-Asia) - a continent off the list only 2 more to go- one booked for later this year

14. it was my furthest trip ever

15. The first time I did transfers on my own

16. My first ever road trip

17. My first ever backpacking/touring on my own

18. The first time i have visited my daughter abroad/been on an adult holiday with my daughter

19. Driven a van

20. Driven in another country

21. Driven through clouds

22. Sailed on the Tasmin Sea

23. Had a glacial shower

24. My first new year and/or Christmas away from home

25. Written my first ever blog (and thank you so much all of you who have said you enjoyed it - that makes it so much more fun to write - maybe now I will have the confidence to write that book !!!!

I bet there are more but enough for now - NZ land of new things to do and see - so much more for me to do and see - when I go back - A holiday I recommend. #lovedit

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb