Falling from the top of the world


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Birds eye view

Sea, mountains, glaciers, lakes, rainforest - what more could you wish for?


Birds eye view
Anna Caswell

Falling
I spent Friday walking around like I had just fallen in love. There was a slightly idiotic grin on my face, and I smiled wildly at anyone that vaguely looked in my direction. I was walking on air, on a "high", and endorphins were rushing thorugh the system. Why? Because I'd thrown myself out of a plane that morning, and flown like a bird.

Something I've always considered doing, and now I've done it will definately be doing again. Basically throwing myself from a perfectly adequate small plane at a height of 12,000 meters over a glacier, with a view of mountains, lakes, forests and sea.

The experience was incredible. The plane was literally only just big enough to hold me, the pilot, 2 instructors and 1 other jumper. Breathing was a bit of a luxury with space requirements after the door was shut for take off, but fortunately my breath was taken away by most of it. For a start the small plane gives an incredible view. We flew up over the lakes, the sea coming into view. As we climbed higher we went over Fox glacier, with Mount Cook standing at eye level - height of
Mt Cook & Mt Tasman Mt Cook & Mt Tasman Mt Cook & Mt Tasman

As seen from 12000ft
12300ft it is NZ's highest mountain, with Mt Tasman next door a mere 600 odd ft shorter. The start of the glacier could be seen powder puff white below us, and the faint build up of clouds was below us on the horizons. The 20 minute scenic flight was wonderful on it's own, and my jump instructor gave me a running commentary throughout - I imagine he's used to calming nervous passengers, but I was genuinely excited.

At the height of 12,000 ft the pilot gave the signal, and opened the door. There wasn't really time to think as I was told to swing my legs over the edge, and then put my trust into a man I'd met only half an hour before as I lifted myself away from the plane. It wasn't so much a jump - hardly the room in the plane, more of a roll. For the next 45 seconds the view was of the plane hurtling away, the blue sky, the mountains rolling past, the ground coming into view a long way away, then the clouds and sky, sea, mountains, and the air just rushing past. All too quickly Rod pulled the cord, and
Fox glacierFox glacierFox glacier

Glacier, forests and the sea, a rare combination
we were jerked back upwards again, and the rushing wind became a silent light breeze. I was ecstatic, and quickly got out the camera to take a few photos before we landed. The view was beautiful, but the feeling of being suspended over the earth was just amazing. Rod asked if I liked rollercoasters...I said yes. So he handed me 2 cords to the parachute and said "Pull left" - suddenly we were circling around and around, and over and over. When I pulled the other way it felt as if we were falling above the parachute, looking up to the earth. Very cool!

The landing was too soon, and I couldn't stop thanking my instructor, not for saving my life, but for one of the most amazing experiences ever. Even thinking about it now makes me smile...



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Mt Tasman & Mt CookMt Tasman & Mt Cook
Mt Tasman & Mt Cook

Mt Cook on the right, 12,300ft, and Mt Tasman centre left, 11,500ft
Top of the glacierTop of the glacier
Top of the glacier

Where the glacier starts formation. A mere 40m of snowfall a year... (compared to the Alps which gets 3-4m!)
On the edgeOn the edge
On the edge

Yes, I really am far more excited than nervous
FallingFalling
Falling

Letting go - watching the plane disappear as we literally fall to earth!
From under the parachuteFrom under the parachute
From under the parachute

After freefalling for 45secs, then practising my landing position under the parachute, I get to take a photo of the view...
Me & RodMe & Rod
Me & Rod

On the way down under the parachute
Back on the groundBack on the ground
Back on the ground

Can I do it again, can I?


7th May 2007

cool!!!!!!!!!
hi anna.......how are you doing? i just read your travelblog so i think good for sure:) wow what an experience always want to do it myself but never had the chance or to be honest the cash:) the photos are amazing thanks to you i feel that im in that part of the world which for me till now is still unknown........chevere take care and keep me informed with your travels
8th May 2007

Big Smile
another wonderfully descriptive blog, Anna, and great photos as usual. Love the last 'smiley' one ! Birthday present comming up ! Keep well, all our love Dxxs
8th May 2007

WOW!
WOW! Anna! Your story sounds amazing but the pictures are even more incredible! I already get nervous just looking at you falling out of the plane, incredible! Have fun the rest of your trip! Chantal - Holland
9th May 2007

amazing photos!!
I loved your pics!!... I just about got to see the top of Mt Cook through the clouds...from the bottom. What an incredible experience; having been to the area I know how beautiful and huge it all is... and thank you for posting your wonderful photos. I'd definitely do the same if I ever go back there - what a perfect day for a jump! xxF
31st May 2007

An amazing site
hi, just read your blog..., i'm gonna be off to new zealand in a couple of weeks, i would really like to have the guts to the same when i get over there. Just for the addrenalin rush and the views on the way down, some amazing pics. I just hope i have the bottle to actually go for it.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb