Rest day...I'm beginning to quite dislike these.


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Te Anau Home


Ask me yesterday evening and I'd have said yes, rest day (or three) would be good. Ask me this morning and all my mind can see is mountains, lakes, tracks. My legs feel fine and I'm sure they'd willingly follow my mind's whims. Well, at least for a little while. Ok, rest it is then.

And it is raining and windy today too. I drive down to Manapouri and spend some time by the lake. Then I decide I'd like to see the ocean so I drive down to Tuatapere and visit Blue Cliffs beach. Stunningly beautiful with confused but colourful weather on the horizon. Far too many sandflies though so I don't linger long.

And so back to Friday night in Te Anau before heading north a bit tomorrow to Queenstown and preparation for the Cascade. The weather is turning slightly moodier but doesn't look too bad - I'll be keeping an eye on it though for the saddle crossing day.

I'm aware I still have some kit updates to share with you. I did manage to buy some duct tape today and have tape up the travelling back (it had ripped). The top part of my tramping pack has also ripped (internally, so I can cover it with the top flap) so I need to tape that up too.

Sarah - the mug you bought me ages ago (five years?) finally lost its handle on the hollyford so I will need to replace that. And the surface of my trangia set plate is deteriorating so a new plate required too. Time for an x-mug and an x-plate when I get back to Queenstown I think.

I did manage to buy some new insoles here today for a mere $20 though 😊

Wake well oh northern ones. I'm off to see how Otago get on in their (20-20) innings against Auckland - go Otago!

Advertisement



23rd December 2010

Don't make mugs like they used to
But at $20 that one will last. Trouble is that Sarah is denied the opportunity to buy you a new present:-)

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb