Dolphins, sandflies and other things


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

The highlight of the last week or so has to be kayaking amongst a pod of 30 or so dolphins on Doubtful Sound yesterday. I was grinning from ear to ear! I hope to be swimming with some in Kaikoura in a few weeks too, this was an added bonus. No idea if I got any shots with my disposable waterproof camera, tried to watch them more than take pictures.

The Kepler Track (3 days walking) rejuvenated me mentally and emotionally for sure - also had a good start with phone calls to Fiona on Sunday and Helen on Monday - definitely perked me up - thanks! The middle day up on the ridge was very windy - got blown over once, fortunately was in a path with banks either side so just sat down fairly swiftly. Other bits of the ridge it would not have been such a good landing. The huts were even more luxurious than before - with flush toilets (overrated I reckon) and a room where you could wash behind a locked door (albeit with cold water obviously). Gas cooking rings too. Mind you for 40 bucks a night I would hope so too.

I had a day off on Thursday and then went on a 2 day kayaking trip to Doubtful Sound, and a day trip kayaking to Milford Sound today. Doubtful was a good group, peaceful place, campsite in the rainforest which had a composting toilet with the most insects I have ever seen in a loo! Milford I got pretty cold and wet (very windy and rainy) and had a slight loss of sense of humour when hunger and tiredness added to this. Anyway, all warm and fed now. The waterfalls were running down all around us. Not sure if pictures will be any good as it was very grey and clouds quite low.

With 3 days on the sounds, sandflies have of course taken their opportunities. I haven't done too badly though. More of a problem is the cut on my shin which is now infected, so doing my best with salt water cleaning and some hydrocortisone cream from the chemist. Don't worry, if it doesn't go away or gets worse I will go to the doctor for some antibiotics!

Driving to Invercargill tomorrow for a few days on Stewart Island. I'm planning to do the Rakiura track and go on a trip to see some birds on another island out there.

Anyway, bye for now. Hope all is well with you all.
Photos next time fingers crossed.


Advertisement



15th February 2006

Enjoying your blog
Hi there - I came across your blog whilst doing some NZ research (husband and I just arrived in Christchurch) and have to say I am inspired by your trip so far. I'm really impressed by how much tramping and outdoor activities you have undertaken and it's motivated me no end! Enjoyed your photos too - you have some crackers. I esp like the one from the Blue Mountains where you look like you are in an episode of Star Trek - my fav show. Wishing you safe travels - from a fellow blogger! PS: Don't mention cuts n' bruises - I shudder to think about all the ones I've had since we started out last year!
27th February 2006

dolphins!
ok now this sounds really good! dolphins! i am soooo green and soooo enjoying looking at all your pics! you are a cool chick and we send our love to invercargill as simon's brother and family live there. xxx love you lots xxx keep having fun and take care but still live on the edge!!!!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb