Milford Sound at it's Peak!


Advertisement
Published: April 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Peak floating Peak floating Peak floating

The weather was beautiful the morning I went on my cruise. This peak was staring right at me as I arrived in the wee hours of the morning.
My most recent adventure was a visit to the breathtaking Milford sound area, which is actually a Fiord. It is one of the natural wonders of the world and now I see why. It was a bitter cold day out there but well worth the journey. The water around here can be quite rough too, but fortunatley I did not have to experience it. I stayed in a rustic lodge near the sound that recieves it's electricity from a large generator. There is not much else out here, but really what else does there need to be. It is beautiful and treking and cayaking are the main activities.

Put this on your list to see next time you travel to New Zealand.

Cheers.

Graham


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Waterfall Mist!Waterfall Mist!
Waterfall Mist!

I found myself right at the front of the boat under this waterfall and it made for some great pictures.
Milford after the Sun came around!Milford after the Sun came around!
Milford after the Sun came around!

The sound actually a Fiord, is beautiful any time of the day. It was cold though!
Mirror LakeMirror Lake
Mirror Lake

This lake reflecting the mountains and surroundings was found on one of the many tourist stops on the way to Milford Sound.


28th April 2005

kool pics
i went to new zealand in the year 2002 with my family for 6 months, we had done alot and even went as far as milford sounds but i didnt get any pics of it. i was dissapointed but i'm happy to say that your pics are very thrilling and scenic. hope you enjoyed your travels there. - Tom Dinsdale

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb