Work, work, work!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
April 22nd 2012
Published: May 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

April 16-20:

This has been a very busy week at work. I attended several lectures and grand rounds. The grand rounds covered different types of dermatomyositis, and I had forgotten how much that I had forgotten! Better review it before Step 3. On Tuesday we had fracture clinic, with nothing too exciting. On Wednesday was the day I had the multiple lectures during which it was diffcult to stay awake. Sorry, it's just not my favorite topic. Yesterday (Thursday) Mr. Hodgson pounded me in clinic. He wanted to see what I was made out of, and he observed me take the history and physical exam on several patients. He then proceeded to pimp me over and over. This, I suppose, comes with the territory, and I had to remember that we had a job to do. Today (Friday), I helped Mr. Alan Carstens with a scoliosis case. I was given the task of cutting up the femoral head. One half was to be cut up into "matchsticks" and the other ground up in the grinder. Mr. Carstens used my end-product of the matchsticks to tease me and put me through the necessary medical student humiliation (in a joking way).

I went to a rugby game tonight. Tomorrow I travel to Stewart Island to see the bird sanctuary. I will post the pictures when I update my blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb