Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
March 9th 2009
Published: March 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I pre warn you all that this is going to be a very short and boring blog entry. After a bad nights sleep i woke up and rushed to get ready to get the coach at 7:30am! I made it just in time but 5 minutes after we set off i realised i had left my food back at the hostel but we couldn't turn around so i had to leave it. I was so tired that i wasn't really paying much attention to what the bus driver was saying about the things we drove by and after stopping for a break i fell asleep and by the time i woke up we were nearly in Dunedin. Throughout the journey (or at least the part i was awake for) it had rained and when we got there it wasn't letting up so i had to walk to the hostel which was about 20 minutes away in the rain, but my bag wasn't so heavy as I'd rearranged it the night before & i didn't have my food to carry.

I arrived at the hostel and after checking in put my bags in my room and went to the reception to ask how to get to the two things I'd heard there were to do, the first was going to see the worlds steepest road and the second was the Otago Museum. Unfortunately the steepest road was a lot further then i thought and i could only get to it by bus and it was a Sunday so they were hardly running and the rain was getting worse so i thought I'd give that a miss, as for the Museum it looked on the map to be within walking distance but after walking for a while and getting soaked i decided not to bother so i went back to the hostel, dried off and spent the rest of the day chatting to some Americans that were in my room.

The next morning i had to catch the coach to Christchurch at 6:45am so that was it as far as it went for Dunedin but although i make it sound all doom and gloom it wasn't that bad and it was a nice to relax for a day without rushing to try and see everything. I'm sure my next blog will be much more interesting to read as I'll be staying
Alexandra ClockAlexandra ClockAlexandra Clock

This was the town clock of Alexandra thats embeded in the side of a hill-I apologise for the poor quality of the photo but the sun was pointing towards me, you might have to enlarge the picture (Just click on it) to see the clock properly
at Chris's house again and i should be doing something pretty amazing if all goes to plan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb