If all the world's a stage, I'm stuck making the coffee.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
April 18th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If all is the world is a stage, I will be the one making the coffee. What I do not understand is I think I'm a pretty well educated person. Got a head on my shoulders but so far at almost every job I have worked I am asked to make coffee. New Zealand holds now exception. For between the dates of March 28- April 13th the city of Dunedin was taken over by artists of all sorts during the Dunedin Fringe Festival. Very much like the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, it was two weeks of art, music and of course for me, theatre. (What? I am a theatre major. I couldn't not work on it). So there I was going into my Wednesday theatre class when I saw the sign. "Stage Manager wanted". I liked being stage manager. Plus the pipe band was still on break from nationals so I had some time on my hands. Now, usually the stage manager is there from Day 1. She herds the actors, keeps a detailed record of everything the director says (in pencil) and tries to keep him happy. Once the show opens, it no longer belongs to the director, it belongs to the SM. Yet here, I called on Wednesday, the director (Wayne) asked if i could be there the next day and sit in on the dress rehearsal. Yup. I came in on the dress rehearsal. This was not the picture of stage management my mind would first come up with. The tech crew consisted of one lighting guy and the Wayne running the projector (there wasn't a background per say. Very nicely done photographs were projected behind the actors). So they didn't need me to call cues. I was a people person. I would have called my job more of house management. I was in charge of ticket sales, ushering, welcoming people to the theatre, reminding them to turn off their phones and serving them a complemetery ( and probably very bad) cup of tea or coffee. I also got to keep the actors on time giving them a countdown every 5 minutes until places.
oh pardon, I haven't even said anything about the play. It's called "The Last Antigone". It's a cross between New Zealand, the media and the Greek myth of Antigone, daughter of Oedipus. It starts with Antigone as the spoiled princess of Dunedin's king Oedipus. Without a care, her world is suddenly turned upside down by the news that her father married his mother. She then changes, wanting to save the city and break the curse upon her family. She finally finds her voice and something to stand up for when her everyone-hates-him, such-a-screw-up brother's body is left to rot on the road after a duel. It touches upon society and the role of the media in todays society with the classic Greek story. It was really good.
So overall, I had a very simple job but I loved it. Plus it was more about the experience. I got to see a great show and learned a lot bout management (just b/c one night everyone wants tea does not mean everyone will want tea the next night. They'll all want coffee) And it got my foot in the door for more opportunities. I've been asked to work follow spot for another show and made a mess of friends.

Well, that show only ran for a week, which left me with a whole week of seeing great shows. Since I worked on a Fringe show I received for my pains a Fringe Artist Pass which allowed me half price ticket into all of the other Fringe shows. I definitely took advantage of this. My favorite show was one called Heavenly Burlesque. I know what you're thinking. Burlesque theatre! how risque. no worries. It was very tastefully done. It was Cirque de Soleil acrobatics (not official cirque but in the same style) in a beautiful theatre. It used to be an old pool hall but has been vamped. Very accoustic and would be amazing as a small concert venue. The show comprised of contemporary dance, aerial acrobatics and a very flexible hula hooper. It was so good I went twice.

There were several other shows I went to see but I won't bore with all the details. It was a great idea and I loved it. I wish there was something similar in Atlanta. Maybe there is but I don't know yet. I auditioned and received a role in a lunchtime theatre production. It's not until after mid-semester break so I won't worry to much bout it now. oh yes, so while everyone back home is getting ready for summer. starting tomorrow after my last class is mid-semester break. I'm planning another great road trip and hoping to make it to the west coast. will give all the details when I get back.

Miss you all. Lots of Love
-alison

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb