Dunedin and the Steepest Road in the World!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
January 31st 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On bringing my luggage to the hostel last night, I discovered that I couldn't find the keys to my padlocks (oh no!)

So after searching aimlessly for about 30 mins I had to admit defeat and go and ask the man on the check in desk to break into my case for me (maybe I should get combination padlocks in the future).

Therefore after the excitment of breaking into my own bag and having breakie, we hit the info centre to get advice on all the freebie things to do (our suspicions that Information Centre's are told to try and sell trips were confirmed, but luckily we got a really helpful girl who gave us little tips).

We went to the Catherdral and then onto the Transport and History Museum (not something I would usually be interested in but it was free to enter - and I got to ride a Penny Farthing bike!).

After a wander around the shops and finding a Dollar Shop (mum you were right, I managed to get new locks for only 2 dollars, they were charging 16 dollars for them in the chemist) we decided to head for what we've been told is the Steepest Street in the world.

We walked for about an hour (20 minutes up an hill the wrong way) but we finally found it and I can confirm that it is pretty steep! Diane didn't want to walk up it but after calling her a wimp we both shot off and I must admit that I think she had a point wanting to stay at the bottom, I was knackered!

After exerting all that energy, we treated ourselves to Lemonade Lollies (they're still the best) and then headed back to our hostel - we ended up walking for about 7 hours today, reminds me of Singapore.

We decided to get ready and hit the town, but as it was pretty quiet (they don't like to party in the week over here) we just had a couple of beers and went back to the hostel.

I can see where the town is suppose to resemble Edinburgh with the old buildings, but I found it didn't really have any atmosphere which was pretty disappointing. It's seems to have lost it's old charm that it was famous for.

Tomorrow we are heading to the small
Baldwin StreetBaldwin StreetBaldwin Street

The steepest in the world!
town of Omaru which is meant to be the most accessable area to see Penguins -and its free!
(they do like to charge for EVERYTHING over here which me and Di disagree strongly about - it's nature so you shouldn't be charged!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

It's true!It's true!
It's true!

The Guiness Book Of Records confirms it


14th January 2010

Unless you drop 100+m in less than 20 meter horizontal distance
All the records you guys show don't come close to streets in La Paz Bolivia that go from 3650m to 3000m under 200 distance... from a city called EL ALTO to La Paz. But that's one of many examples. Potosi has them, Bariloche has them Inclinations of over 60 degrees where you can only go down.. not up with a car.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb