So That Was Christmas...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 26th 2013
Published: December 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Since listening to Christmas carols the entire time I was in the airport on the way here, I have encountered little evidence of Christmas on this trip. It was easy to forget that it is actually December. That being said, I did find it weird to be away from home yesterday, and in summer weather no less. Instead of family, I spent my day in Akaroa with a couple from Australia, an American traveler, a singing bus driver, several dolphins, seals and penguins, and an adorable dog with a life jacket who helped us spot the wildlife. It was definitely a Christmas that I will remember for a long time.

Today was equally memorable. I went white water rafting on the Rangitata river, with rapids up to class five - the highest level that is actually raftable. At first these rapids seemed quite extreme, but we were well prepared and our guide was again extremely experienced and competent. And this time I didn't distinguish myself as the only person to fall out of the boat! (In fact, nobody fell out, even though this was apparently a very real possibility. )

I hope that everyone has had an excellent Christmas! I will leave you with a picture of my view on Christmas morning - the Banks peninsula near Christchurch.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb