SO much damage :(


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
October 12th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been in Christchurch a few days now and it’s so sad to see the city I love so much like this. There is a fence closing off almost all of the city center from anyone as they work to stabilize and demolish buildings. So many of the places I used to walk to and around and buildings I used to go into all the time are either completely gone or cordoned off.

I couldn’t see the cathedral but I did get a glimpse of the area where it once stood from behind a fence. The arts center which is another neo-gothic type building was damaged extensively and is also cordoned off. I hope they will be able to save it and rebuild.

I went inside the Christchurch museum. It’s the only neo-gothic building to survive the quakes and only have some superficial damage. Walked through the botanical gardens which are thriving. The avon river still looks so peaceful among all the destruction.

I checked out Chch’s rugby fanzone where some of the market stalls from the Cathedral square market were set up. I also hopped on a bus out to Lyttelton which is the town on the harbour closest to the epicenter of the earthquakes.

Much of the town is unrecognizable. So many buildings are gone. Main street is very different. There were only a few shops still standing and operational. The historic timeball building on the hill is completely gone. So sad. However, they are rebuilding. The gondola that goes up the hill to overlook the harbour is not in operation at the moment.

I also went out to Sumner one day when it was really sunny and quite warm. There are stacks and stacks of sea containers lining the road to protect from falling rocks from the cliffs. You can see where houses on the top of the cliffs have been damaged and you can see where a lot of the cliffs have just fallen apart.

I walked along the beautiful beach and you can see one house that would have been beautiful overlooking the ocean. Only half of the house is left, the other half is sitting in the rubble pile underneath. That would have been scary if that was your house.

My time in Christchurch has come to an end and I go back to Auckland tomorrow. I love this city so much. It’s been devastating to see so many of the buildings destroyed. It’s also sad to see the whole city center cordoned off. It was one of my favorite parts of this city. I have no doubt that Christchurch will rebuild itself and be once again amazing but it will take time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb