Settled but still adventuring!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 11th 2004
Published: May 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well I thought I would try this online journal thing and I'm quite excited. I've started it late considering I'm staying here for over a year but I thought I would go back and put some pictures on so everyone can see my journey's.
I am living here in Christchurch and attending Christchurch College of Education. However, one of the primary reasons for travelling so far for college was to get outdoors and adventure. I intend to keep that in mind and am planning various adventures for the coming year.
So far I'm missing friends and families. My lovely family in Daegu, Korea was amazing to me and I miss the love everyday. But I've found some amazing flatmates and a good city. I'll explore from here.
New Zealand is beautiful and the people are friendly. However, when you are living here a different side of Kiwi's comes out. One that is somewhat distant and settled, like some North American cities. Everyone is interested in my accent which is nice and why I decided to come here. Many Kiwi's have yet to realise that half the world is dying to visit thier country. I feel very lucky to be one of the fortunate ones.
It's easy to forget the place is small, 4 million people. A lot of New Zealand is still rural and along with that comes with rural attitudes. Sometimes you can find a crowd that is very racist which is really unfortunate. It puts a damper on the countries beauty and friendliness.
MOre to come....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb