Day 12: Santa in the Park


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 11th 2010
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Santa in the ParkSanta in the ParkSanta in the Park

In Victoria Park, fundraising for an earthquake-damaged church.
Day 12, Dec. 11, Santa in the Park

Today was sunny and warm, with highs in the 80's.
I woke up feeling wonderful -- still sick but definitely on the mend. I caught the free shuttle bus to a Countdown supermarket at the other end of town. Countdown seemed to be a nice mid-range chain, rather like Food Lion.

I bought four apples; I've had one so far and it was great. I also bought two racks of lamb and two steaks, and I'm now worrying that I've over-bought; I haven't been as hungry as usual lately and I only have two days to eat them all. I fixed one of the lamb racks for lunch, and set off the smoke detector.

Paper products and all pharmaceuticals seem to be ridiculously expensive here. Sunblock is $20 a bottle. Nevertheless I bought more; it's summer here and I really, really need it.

I got back from shopping by 11, and I should really have stayed inside till 2 or 3, but Jim had been delayed getting in to work by a partial shutdown of Route 19, and he hadn't been able to get an account on the guest
Dorset HouseDorset HouseDorset House

The front entrance
wireless (by which he's been able to talk to me at work). So I wanted to go out so I could get back and talk to Jim at 2. I nearly got myself sunburned, so it was a stupid decision.

I was trying to finish my shopping by getting to a liquor store I had seen to pick up a trial-size bottle of whiskey. I found the store, but it was closed until further notice, as so many buildings still are here in Christchurch, even months after the earthquake.

I went to Victoria Park again and saw a teen in a Santa suit standing there. It turned out that a church was having a fair there to raise money for rebuilding. I paid a dollar for a Mystery Prize and then gave it back to them so they could sell it again. It really was a mystery; I don't have a clue what it was. Some sort of toy, I think. It was star-shaped with a long blue plastic tube or coil depending from it.

I really wanted to go to the Botanic Gardens, so I set out in that direction, but before I got there I
Cabbage TreeCabbage TreeCabbage Tree

Native vegetation.
realized I was tiring out and reaching my sun limit. So I headed back to Dorset House. I think the only way I will get to the Botanic Gardens will be to ride the Christchurch Tram, and I can't do that now till January (as the fare covers two days' travel, and I'll be leaving on Monday morning).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb