Train kept a rollin....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 22nd 2010
Published: January 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yo yo yo.

Hope all is well in snowy england - you actually made the 6 o clock news over here would you believe?

So what have I been doing? Pretty much a big fat nothing. Been to the cinema a coupla times but have failed miserably to get a job, although some of the blonde girls from my hostel appear to have had no trouble...

Anyway, there is a light at the end of the rather expensive tunnel. Tomorrow (saturday) I get back on the plane and fly up to Wellington, NZ's capital for those who didn't know already, where I will spend a couple of days exploring (particularly the Weta Workshop museum where they have a shedload of Lord of the Rings props and costumes) and then on Monday I get on a bus to a smaller town called Levin (pronounced Lev-een) where I will be met and taken to the Organic River Festival, which I have volunteered to work at.

I was thinking about coming home in time for the UK festival season and doing the same thing, but ours works differently in that you still have to buy a ticket and then you get it refunded - not at this one, I can just rock up and do what I'm told.

Now I haven't heard of any one who's playing this, but it seems pretty low key and as for what I'm doing I will find out when I get there, but when asked my 3 preferred areas I put 1. Festival Artists (that means getting them on stage on time, not being one...) 2. Bar 3. Information Point (that's got to be the easiest job in the world - "What time is this band on?" (look at timetable) "6pm, see ya"...) check out the details at www.ecofest.co.nz you can see from the map it's a pretty small thing. I don't get paid for it, but it's free accommodation, free food, free for me to be there when I'm not working and most importantly I'VE GOT SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY DAY!!!! I've also volunteered to help pack it all down at the end, so I'm basically going to be uncontactable until 5th Feb and after that I'm not 100% sure what to do. Figured I'd decide that when I'm finished with this thing.

I met some good people in Christchurch so I may well be back again and I might actually buy a guitar to do some busking and gigging, I just couldn't be bothered carrying one around when I moved on...

I don't think I have anything more to say so speak to you next month 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb