Back with Meike and off to Oamaru


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
November 19th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I met up with Yvonne and Julia (two girls I worked with in Picton) and we did a bit of shopping before Julia decided that she wanted to get her ears pierced. So, I took her to a piercing/tattoo shop and got her ears pierced. I'm not sure if it's because I have so many piercings that these girls always want me to take them haha but i'm cool with it. After dinner I met back up with Yvi and Julia and Meike had finally arrived!!! Yeah!!!

Soooo good to see her again. I took her out to find some food for her dinner and then the 4 of us headed to a movie. We went to see The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus. It was Heath Ledger's last movie that he didn't get to finish but Johnny Depp, Colin Farrell and Jude Law take over for him in a few scenes and it's really quite an entertaining movie. A bit weird but good.

The next day I met up with Meike in the morning and Julia and Yvi were heading out of Christchurch. Meike and I did a bit of shopping at all the souvenir shops and then had a coffee at Starbucks. I had to say bye to Meike as she was headed to Kaikoura for a couple of days and I was headed to Oamaru.

Audrey came back in to Christchurch so I met up with her and we had dinner together and watched movies of course. She's a bit of a non-planner and forgot that her visa for NZ expires tomorrow so she was a the immigration office trying to sort it out. Silly silly girl!!

I got all packed up the next morning and said bye to Audrey as she was headed up north in hopes of getting her visa extended for 2 more weeks. Me and all my bags headed for the bus stop to Oamaru. The bus was completely full so not so much fun. It's a 4 hour bus ride to Oamaru from Christchurch which is a long drive for most people in NZ haha.

When I got in to Oamaru Dave from the hostel came and picked me up. The hostel is really small. Yvi and Julia had arrived earlier in the day and were also staying there. After dinner I met two older ladies from NZ in my room who were really nice. They gave me some good advice. Yvi and Julia came back from seeing the penguins and I got to visit with them again for a bit.

Advertisement



25th November 2009

Advice from 'older' people
Glad to hear that there are some of us 'older' people who offer you advice. Hopefully it is helpful!!! Great to meet with familiaqr faces throughout your travels! Keep safe and sund!

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb