I survived!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 19th 2005
Published: February 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The first pic of me on the adventure-Yeeks!The first pic of me on the adventure-Yeeks!The first pic of me on the adventure-Yeeks!

Just a quick shot of me down by the river in Singapore, we didn't have much time off the bus so it was a quick "pose".
Well after 2 days of travelling I have finally arrived in Christchurch although I can't complain, the trip hasn't been bad..

While travelling here I met up with a group of medical students and some doctors from the USA who were on their way to India for a missions trip with an organization so I hung out with them quite a bit during layovers. We had an eight hour layover in Singapore which was really nice. The airport there is amazing, very beautiful and they even had free internet for passengers, showers and an outdoor rooftop pool if you wanted to swim between flights! They also offered two tours for free-one was an island tour and a city tour. We didn't have time for the island tour by the time so we did the city tour but it was beautiful. Singapore looks like quite an interesting city, when I come thru (back home) I think I want to spend some time there...and the best thing is they have summer year round. It was plus 30 there which was great except I had jeans on but otherwise I'd love it.

Well it's 6:30pm here in Christchurch and I was supposed
River's EdgeRiver's EdgeRiver's Edge

This was shot along the river's edge in downtown Singapore. On the opposite side of the river where all the colored buildings are they have a bunch of cafe's etc...very trendy area at night so we were told
to be on a bus headed to Dunedin but was bumped from my seat so I can't leave until tomorrow...basically when I made the reservation from Canada the man said I could pay when I got here and because I didn't pay via visa they gave my seat away. So I am now booked and ready to head tomorrow afternoon...and I lucked out, I went to three hostels here and two were booked and I got the last bed at the one-crazy busy here right now.

Christchurch looks beautiful too...the canal runs thru the city centre and the buildings here are neat. I plan on seeing more tomorrow.

Well I need to run and hopefully next time I blog I should be in Dunedin...




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Docking PortDocking Port
Docking Port

Where we got onto the boat-the area is surrounded by old buildings like the one in the picture and then new modern ones...
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

One shot to tease you with for now of Christchurch and the canal that goes thru the city centre-beautiful eh?


22nd February 2005

Hey WOW
Way to go kiddo. You're on your way. Say, was the hostel in Christchurch a big old house? If it was then I've slept there - or more correctly, I've slept under a tarp in the yard. Singapore sounds great too. This blog thing is fun. I'll stay tuned for your next installment. - Terry Turtle

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb