Christchurch and another farewell....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 5th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So Saturday morning wasn't the earliest of starts but I eventually got moving and gave Steve the warning I was leaving. He dragged himself out of bed looking very green around the gills. After a quick questioning it transpired he hadn't got home till 7am so was dying on his feet.

Needless to say he wasn't the best of company on the drive to Christchurch. He managed to stay awake for the first hour and thereafter he slept on and off all day. The drive to Christchurch was beautiful however I was really tired so didn't really have full appreciation for the sights.

Once in Christchurch at installed at the hostel I headed out for a wander around the town as I was flying out first thing Sunday morning. Christchurch struck me as quite a pretty city which surprised me given most people had said that they didn't like it and not to bother staying. Once back at the hostel I made sure the Starlet was emptied out and clean. I would also like to reassure anyone who is worried that all items that had been borrowed from the Wanganui Hostel were returned to various other hostels along the way and they were all connected to the same chain!!

Sunday morning soon came around and with bags packed Steve and I headed to the airport. Goodbyes were said to the Starlet with affection and Steve and I said our unemotional and pretty much a nod of the head and thanks for the past four weeks goodbyes as he headed to Fiji and I flew to Sydney.

Another country down and over half way through my trip. Home is getting ever closer now.....

I can honestly say that New Zealand lived up to my expectations and it is a country I will revisit in years to come however any return visit will be during their summer so that I can do some tramping and get to see more of the countryside. I'm afraid to say it is a country I would not consider emigrating too as it really is too far from home!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb