Christchurch, Kaikoura, Nelson and Poo Pub


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 7th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On my first day in Christchurch I went to the Antarctica Centre, which sounds very exciting I suppose really. I saw some more penguins, experienced a simulated arctic storm and had a ride in a haaglund. Felt pretty sick after going up and down the massive chicanes!

Sunday was the start of the Kiwi Experience, I know it seems rather naff to use these companies, but they're very good if you're on your own!

We drove up to Kaikoura and I decided to go fishing for some reason, forgetting that I really don't have sea legs! I managed to get really quite sick and threw up Red Bull and ginger biscuits over the side of the boat! Whoops. I did manage to catch four fish though and the skipper had a metal leg as a shark had chomped it off! We could up all the fish later and ate it, what a hunter gatherer I am!

There's a nice bunch of people on my bus at the moment and I have a really good feeling about New Zealand.

Next day we drove through lots of beautiful, lush, hilly tree-y countryside up to Nelson. Not a lot to there unfortunately but it was a lovely hostel and we all had fun at the muddy beach at night fall.

On the move again the next morning to Westport. I thought it would be a good idea to go quad biking, not remembering how scary it was last time! I can't go fast *and* steer, so at one point I just went fast, into a bush and tipped the bike on to me spilling stinking petrol all over my thigh. Ouch. I got back up again though and improved my tactics a bit, whenever I needed to turn I braked!

The next day we spent a lot of time driving. We stopped off to look at the pancake rocks and again pick up items for the fancy dress party and the "Poo Pub" aka Lake Mahinaoua. I decided to go as an English Rose which as I already am one it wasn't too hard:P We also had a Steve Irwin, the Sun, a kiwi, trees and bushes etc etc...

I have very sadly possibly lost all my Australia photos and most the photos of above, so the photos here aren't mine, the best are locked onto my
Caught a fish!Caught a fish!Caught a fish!

Gutted I don't have my own pictures!
memory card. There is a chance I could get them back but one camera shop has already tried to no avail so I don't hold high hopes:-(


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb