Arrival


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 28th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

airportairportairport

There was an observation platform on the roof of the airport, so I went on it. This is air traffic control

Travel and Accomodations

I made it! I had to fly from Minneapolis to Dallas/Fort Worth to L.A. to Aukland, NZ, to Christchurch, but I made it. The plane rides were uneventful (as the good ones are) and I slept lightly on the first three, then watched a bunch of movies and read on the international flight. The food was really good for airplane food; Quantas is a really nice airline.

It is only 11 a.m. and I am checked into The Devon B&B (http://www.thedevon.co.nz/). I stayed here last time and it is an excellent little place. Since last year they made a bunch of improvements, putting private bathrooms into their rooms and making it look nicer. Their breakfasts are delicious; they serve a variety of fresh fruit, cold cereal, yogurt, amazing toast, and scrumptious eggs, bacon, sausage, and hashbrowns.

Today



I just bummed around. I took my book with me down to a man made canal to sit under a weeping willow tree with my feet in the water to watch the punting boats go by. Then I made my way over to Cathedral Square to see street performers, life-size chess;
puntingpuntingpunting

A canal that runs the length of Christchurch and has a nice walkway all the way up and down.
I also went to the Botanical Gardens to see some cool plants and to sit in the sun. I ate at a place called the Pagoda Court and had a very tasty ostrich dish.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ducksducks
ducks

waddle waddle
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

Hence the name "Cathedral Square"
sculpturesculpture
sculpture

A nice sculpture in cathedral square. I do not know why I took a black and white, since the most attractive aspect of it is the tints of blue.
yikes!yikes!
yikes!

scary


31st December 2008

your feet in the water...LOL your feet :)

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb