New Zealand - Christchurch & Banks Bay Peninsula


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last few days in New Zealand...


From Mt. Cook, I drove up to Hanmer Springs, where I soaked in thermal pools and hiked in a forest of redwoods and evergreen trees (all planted many years ago). Then I headed to Kaikoura on the East Coast, where I went kayaking in the Pacific Ocean. The next day, I drove down the coast to Christchurch for one day in the historic English-style city. I took a walk through the famous Botanic Gardens in the rain and got a quick tour of the coast from my new local friend, John, whom I'd met back in Hokitika a few weeks earlier. Finally, I spent my last two nights in New Zealand on the Banks Peninsula, about an hour from Christchurch. It was the perfect way to end my 6-week adventure in this beautiful country.

Next, I'm off to Perth Australia...


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hike from Hanmer SpringsHike from Hanmer Springs
Hike from Hanmer Springs

Lumber is a big industry here. They replant the trees in neat little rows
Cafe sign in Hanmer SpringsCafe sign in Hanmer Springs
Cafe sign in Hanmer Springs

Yet another healthy American food to travel the globe
The famous rose gardenThe famous rose garden
The famous rose garden

Botanic Gardens


Botanic Gardens
John from ChristchurchJohn from Christchurch
John from Christchurch

He was kind enough to show me around the Christchurch area, despite the rainy weather.
Boating in LeBon's BayBoating in LeBon's Bay
Boating in LeBon's Bay

Again, that brilliant turquoise water!
We saw Hector's dolphins from the boatWe saw Hector's dolphins from the boat
We saw Hector's dolphins from the boat

They are the smallest dolphins in the world
The Hostel at Le Bons BayThe Hostel at Le Bons Bay
The Hostel at Le Bons Bay

A 100-year old farm house that the owner restored.
My cabin at the hostelMy cabin at the hostel
My cabin at the hostel

Le Bons Bay Backpackers on Banks Peninsula
Family style dinner al fresco Family style dinner al fresco
Family style dinner al fresco

Le Bons Bay Backpackers


17th December 2008

Thank you for sharing your avdentures
Hey Laura, It has been so much fun following your adventures. New Zeland is an amazing place and I look forward to traveling with my family soon. Safe travels as you head to your next destination. I am excited for the next chapter...
17th December 2008

Christchurch
Dave and I loved Christchurch. We stayed in a hotel directly across from THE church and had a huge bay window to enjoy the view. We also saw a movie there with reserved seats! That was new to us. As always - wonderful photography. I love what a variety of things you're doing on your trip, and all the cool hostels you're staying in. Wonderful! Merry Christmas!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb