Of pumpkin pie and green bean casserole . . .


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
November 28th 2005
Published: November 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Being away from home during Thanksgiving isn't that bad, there are just certain things you miss. I missed family of course, but often it's the little things that you think about the most--for me this was pumpkin pie and green bean casserole. Two very American dishes that are had to replicate anywhere outside the US just because it's hard to get your hands on the right ingredients. My Thanksgiving went well. I saw the new Harry Potter movie and then cooked dinner for two English girls, Natalie and Catherine, that were staying in the hostel. Natalie works with me making beds and Catherine was some random person Natalie and I met while making beds who we invited to dinner. It was a unique Thanksgiving to say the least. Things are going much better than last week. I started at my new job at Element on Friday, which was ten times better than Cafe Bleu. The people are a lot nicer and it seems like a friendlier place in general. I also have been getting used to spending more time alone. After touring the country I was so used to constantly being around people and I have come to realise that I am going to have to spend a lot of time on my own because I came here alone and most people I met are not going to be around for long. Anyway, I appericate everyone's support, I always enjoy any feedback I recieve.

Advertisement



28th November 2005

LIFE IN N.Z. SOUNDS GOOD!
LISA.....I just wrote you and e-mail....It was great to talk with you Thanksgiving....Your family misses you. Love your pictures and your stories....we all do! Love, Nana
28th November 2005

Missed you!
Hi Lisa...The Heater/Allen clan missed you so much on Thanksgiving. The green bean casserole was enjoyed by all. That was my contribution to our Thanksgiving dinner and I should have made twice as much since there was none left for seconds. We had such a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at your parent's lovely beach home. I especially enjoyed the mashed potatoes, turkey and your mom's apple pie! Visiting with your aunt and uncle, cousins and grandparents was very enjoyable. It was so really nice to talk with you on the phone. Joslyn wasn't quite sure if she liked Max as Max kept barking at her. She didn't want anything to do with him except when I took them on a walk and they sniffed each other. Hopefully, next time they meet, Max will be more mature and not as demanding and Joslyn will be in a better mood! Thanks for the gorgeous photos. Love, Annie

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb