Going South


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 2nd 2008
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChristchurchChristchurchChristchurch

I rode my bicycle!!
Hi everyone Lynda here reporting from the South Island, been here a few days now and have logged up thousands of miles and seen some simply stunning scenery, from forests to mountains to lakes to oceans, to bush to fields - you name it I think it;s here and we've seen it. It's a shame we had to say goodbye to Karen it would have been great if she could have come, but I suppose someone's got to keep the NZ economy going!!

Arrived in Christchurch and Karen (thank you) had picked us a wicked hotel - thoroughly modern and new. Christchurch was really pretty and I took the first opportunity to get out and see it. I just missed a walking tour of the town but then spied a bike tour so signed up for it - so glad I did it got me further out and about than I could have gone on foot. Saw the house which the first settlers, who were scottish, built and some beautiful gardens and parks as well as an amazing school (wish they were like that in the UK).

Lorraine, I'm keeping notes for you - so you'll know all the
Impressed?Impressed?Impressed?

We were!!
good places to visit. The following day we picked up the car and we were off , firstly to Kaikoura, well known for it's marine life. We were booked on a whale watching tour at 2.30 p.m. so had time to drive around and find a lovely place to stay called Donegal House. When we got to the tour there were severe weather warnings although the trip was going ahead only the hardy could go. Neither or us get seasick but we weren't going to take the risk so popped some pills. Actually the trip wasn't so bad at all, been on a lot rougher rides than this.

I don't know if we were lucky or not, but we certainly felt lucky as we had three sighting of whales, although we saw Tiaki twice. In case you don't know whales come to the surface about every hour for about 10 to 15 minutes to take in air to allow them to go back down deeper to feed. Tiaki was already on the surface when we found him (by the way all the whales in this area are males because it's too cold in these oceans for the females). The
Whale WatchWhale WatchWhale Watch

Little Nick waving goodbye
most impressive part of any whale watch is seeing them go back under that's when you get the very impressive wave goodbye with their tail. Amazing to see. Anyway after Tiaki went we headed out for another whales called Little Nick who they knew was nearby. Very impressive how they find them, the captain has what looks like a big tube with a funnel on the end and he sticks it in the water and wiggles it about (I'm sure it's much more technical that this, but that's what it looked like!). He then listens for the ultrasound and if he can hear it that means the whales still on the bottom eating and when the noise goes that means he's on his way to the surface again. Clever stuff!! We were in for a treat because Little Nick greeted us tail first, which apparently is very unusual - think he must have liked us!! We then returned to see Tiaki once more before we had to head home.

The captain, however, had one more surprise in store for us. He took us inland where there were 300 odd dusky dolphins all playing and frolicking in the sea. They were really trying to impress and were diving, chasing the boat and doing somersaults. Honestly whichever way you looked all you could see were dolphins. It was fantastic and a sight I don't think I'll ever forget.

(Tina)Just to put my twopennyworth in, the Whale Watch was something I really wanted to do when I came and it was absolutely everything I thought it would be. Could have done with our official photographer (Karen) with us as I don't think our digital cameras really do the sights justice, however the pictures in our minds will never leave us, feel privileged to have experienced it

Kaikoura in Maori means Crayfish so it was a given that thats what we would have for our tea, any of you that loves a bit of shellfish would have been in your element, and although it was a lovely flavour, me particularly can't be arsed digging around all the bones for a bit of fish, glad I had it but wouldn't necessarily have it again.

Next day we planned to drive to Greymouth, right across country however alot of people we met told us not to bother so as time is short
Crayfish SupperCrayfish SupperCrayfish Supper

Too good to eat?!
here we headed straight to Franz Josef, stopping at Shantytown on the way. They have recreated a old gold-mining village, three of the buildings are original and have been moved to the sight. We arrived about 50 mins before they shut but the nice guy behind the counter said go and have a look which was really nice of him. Really well done and so glad we made it.

Got to Fran Josef and almost dusk, Lynda went to find out about a trip for the next day on the Glacier, but she had decided to do Fox Glacier (yes just like the mints) not Franz Josef, the particular trip she wanted to do was leaving at 9 am the next morning and we were still quite a way away so we decided it was better to do the drive that night rather than early in the morning. It meant we did an awful lot of driving in one day, think we were in the car for over 8 hours, give or take a few stops, really tiring day but we arrived ok and booked into a hotel. Found a bar still serving food, just, had a quick meal
Shanty TownShanty TownShanty Town

There's gold in them there hills! Unfortunately we didn't find any!
and then home to bed. Like a ghost town after 10 pm.

Hi me again (Lynda). Decided to do a helihike as time was restricted and could really fit in a half day. Good decision. The helicopter flight out was very scenic and although I was in the back seat and it was hard to take pictures it was very picturesque. We landed in the middle of nowhere and what really blew me away was the colour of the ice - it was so blue (now I know why it's called ice blue). We hiked over the glacier for about two and a half hours while our guide found us interesting stuff to look at. My favorite were the ice caves, I had such fun climbing in and out of them. The flight back was even better as he really played and would drive right up to the rock face before turning out of it and driving straight ahead and then dropping, my belly was in my mouth but such good fun. I was bloody freezing by the time I got back but wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Tina was ready and waiting and we were
Fox GlacierFox GlacierFox Glacier

And not a mint to be found, only ice caves
on our way again, clocking up a few more miles and, yet again, seeing some stunning scenery. (I sometimes don't think I've got the vocabulary to describe some of the sights and secenery - all I can come up with is amazing - as I refuse to use "awesome"!!) Next stop Lake Wanaka.

(Tina) Not too long a drive bought us to this beautiful place that is Lake Wanaka. A newish village on the side of this gorgeous lake and we were lucky enough to get a room that had the most stunning of views. Both of us really liked the feel of this place, the perfect stopover and we heard it from more than a couple of people quite hard to leave. Unfortunately we only had one night but a few youngsters told us they had turned up months ago and had got jobs and couldn't leave. It really is a captivating place. Tried a couple of LIIT's in this place and even pulled one of the barmans legs about how we were freelance journalists doing a world-wide survey on LIIT's. well part of it was true and if there is anyone out there who wants to buy
Beautiful SceneryBeautiful SceneryBeautiful Scenery

Around every corner
an article, we are certainly your girls!!

For us however the road beckoned and so the next morning we headed to Queenstown, via Arrowtown for lunch. Arrowtown is an old mining town, a bit like the original of the Shantytown, really lovely and something you would expect to see in a wild-west film but totally authentic. There is a Chinese settlement there that they have excavated and tried to re-create, it seems these early Chinese settlers had a really tough deal. Next onto Queenstown, which we had heard was a similar sort of place only bigger, for me it had none of the charm, alot bigger and very backpackerery, however its obviously very popular because we had a job finding a reasonably priced room.

Ended up in the equivilent of a Wall Park shed which was very comfortable although basic, we went to the local supermarket and bought food, cooked chicken and some veggies and had a very quite night. (Lynda again) - just have to add that the beds were a lot more comfortable than the Wall Park beds!!!

Off again (can you believe it's only Wednesday and we only started this adventure on Saturday) this
Lake WanakaLake WanakaLake Wanaka

So stunning
time to Lake Tekapo via the world's first bungy centre (off an ancient bridge into a river) which now have a bungy museum (if you've ever heard of such a thing!). Watched a few jumps, my belly went with them every time and I thought of Daddy's words (DON'T DO IT) when he was here ten years ago - my thoughts exactly. Thought of the kids though and how much they would have loved it. Don't think I'd have been able to watch if it was them!!

We stopped for lunch at a place called Twizel which we'd heard of because there were two schools on our flight out here who were taking part in a schools rowing competition at Twizel. Well you definitely couldn't call it a town, if it hadn't been for some of the kids hanging around I don't know who would have been there - just us, I guess and about 6 cafes!!

Onto Lake Tekapo, which is the most gorgeous place, so quiet and tranquil. The lake itself is turquoise blue and again the "town" consists of about 6 buildings. There's the cutest little church you've ever seen called The Good Shepherd right
Lake TekapoLake TekapoLake Tekapo

Just keeps getting better
on the edge of the lake - it's so quaint.

Anyway you're about up to date - except we are, once again, in a backpackers (how brave are we), but this time it's a whole different ball game and it only cost us $60 which is about 24 quid (what a bargain), we/ve been so frugal today we even had left over chicken for dinner!! You're inheritance is safe, for the moment, kids - or running out, whichever way you look at it.

Loads of love, missing you all like crazy. Looking forward to going back to the North Island and seeing the family, especially the party which is what this trip is all about. Love, hugs and kisses L&T xxxx





Advertisement



2nd April 2008

I BEAT DARREN !! (for once - well sort of anyway!!)
Well, don’t know how to start, the whales looked simply surreal and the Glazier looked incredible, I may have to stop reading this blog because it makes me so Jealous! What’s this about you popping pills before going on boats, I am sure it’s usually done on the clubbing scene not whale watching?!! Lake Wanaka looks like the place for me to learn how to fish, I could sit there for hours, just beautiful. Keep up the good work girls, your doing us all proud. I just wanted to let the whole world know that I came second in the darts on Sunday. It was the final day of the Geekathalon - a 3 day tournament for Matt "The Pirate's" birthday including Golf, Bowling and Darts. Tony "The Don" (Matts dad) fluked a bullsye (only joking Tony - good shot!!) to take first place and I finished in 2nd. For those who dont know this is a huge achievement for me; basically I beat Darren "El Magico" which is as good as winning in my book - in fact anything apart from last place is an achievement!! I would prefer not to discuss the Golf, Bowling or even the final standings of the 3 day tournament because it’s embarrassing (for me anyway) As you can see girls, nothings really changed here - we are still as competitive as ever and most of the time I continue to lose, and at most things!! when on the very rare occasion I do win something (or even come 2nd) I like to try and rub it in as much as possible!! The funniest moments of the weekend was the Darts entry music provided by Darren "El Magico" and Wilmot "The Women Warrior" who kept missing the dart board and hitting Matt "The Pirate's" front room wall in full view of his parents. Matt "The Cat" Hammond somehow won the event with Darren "El Magico" coming a close second. Anyway, it is great to hear you are having a wonderful time, it is all good here – the kids are just amazing and Louis got into his school which is BRILLIANT news, I will email you some more pics soon, give all our love to the family in NZ. Ben xxx ps - make sure you keep calling, its great to hear from you xx
2nd April 2008

BEAUTIFULL
How beautifull , no not you two , New Zealand ! Linda - didnt like the sound of the helicopter ride , made my stomach turn thinking about it x What lovely photos , really looks a special place to visit . Tina - did you remember me telling you about the little church (terry visited ) ? Bet your looking forward to the party at the weekend . Quick hello to Donna , bet your blooming now love , so excited for you both , speak soon , take care girls xx
5th April 2008

Remember us?
Hi You two Remember us, we met in Hanoi, Ho Chi's Mausoleum tour? I have just found your blog address in all my stuff when I was unpacking. It sounds like you are having a whale (pardon the pun) of a time, well done. We have been home for 10 days and I really wish we were still travelling, ten weeks was not long enough. I think I enjoyed Japan most of all, but then all the travelling we done on the Transib, stopping off in Mongolia and staying in Ger tents was fantastic too. We done a home stay in Siberia where the toilet was at the bottom of the garden. I woke John up the ifrst night to ask him if he wanted to wee (which he didn't as he was asleep) but after he came with me the first time I was ok. Don't you find yourself fascinated by toilets? I think you must be nearing the end of your trip now, I wonder if you are ready to go home? I wasn't and can't see a two week holiday being any good in the future. Good luck with the rest of your travels, I am very jealous. Hazel
6th April 2008

Wow
So pleased to hear all your travel news again, it's the high light of our week seeing who is going to read it first, there is no reason to worry about using the right phase or words, everyone of your bloggs has been interesting or even AWESOME, so much you just want to read on and on. Jade is green with envy with the dolphins she said it's her dream to swop places with you. It's Sunday and heavy snow AGAIN. so can't wait to get up the mountain with son and see the other SUN. will pick up case from Nicky and bring it with us. NO PROB. keep the news coming and stay safe. X X X X
6th April 2008

Snow is falling....
Unfreckingbelivable, It's only snowing!! I was in my shorts basking in some glorious sunshine and 18* temperatures on Thursday and now I'm looking out the window to some mad blizzard. It's been chucking it down for a couple of hours (time now is 9am). At least Louis And Mia can enjoy it though. Catch ya later xx
7th April 2008

MUMMY
Hi mummy and auntie , hope your still having a good time . Ive been off work today with a sore face , i went out with my mate for something to eat last night and the waitress asked me what i would fancy and i told her "a quickie please " she looked at me and said "ill ask you again what do you fancy ?" , i replied that i still fancied a quickie, and with that she slapped me across the face and stormed off ! Then my mate turned to me and said "jim, i think its pronounced "quiche " xxx

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb