Howzat


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 25th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 156 - Saturday 23 February

I was up early again as were watching the cricket this afternoon and we've only got half a day left to explore the city, something we haven't done yet even though this is our second visit here.

On our last visit here I couldn't see why people compare it to an english city, but today I could. The city centre is just like any English town centre.

After picking up a waterproof coat ( I think i'll need one here) and taking some photos of the cathedral we were just about to go back to the hostel when a street performer started his performance nearby to us. He did the usual juggling and breaking spaghetti with a wip trick but it was his jokes that made the performance, they were really funny the best i've heard from the various performers i've seen on my travels. He also made a lit cigarette dissapear through my jumper without burning it or leaving ash on it. For the first time on my travels I actually gave some money.

A brief stop off back at the hostel and we headed back out to watch the cricket. I knew we were in trouble early on as we were just scoring so slow on what looks like a very small ground. The locals all said that anything below 300 is bad. Having had six pints and still feeling sober during the english innings, I gave up drinking for the rest of the day. The game looks lost and we've got a whole day of driving to do tomorrow. There was a brief moment towards the end when we had a small chance but the onsetting rain soon put an end to that.

I can't believe the difference in temperatures here. This afternoon had been roasting and i'm bright red from the sun even though i've already got a good base tan. The walk home however was freezing. Theres a bit of light drizzle and it feels like a winters night back in the UK. I was glad im wearing my jumper.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb