Settling in to Chrsitchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
October 25th 2007
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have been here for just over month and am beginning to feel settled in. Bought a car so I’m mobile, ideal as I’m working 1/2 hour out of town. I am working for the Foundation for Arable Research in Lincoln which is going well, am just beginning to get used to having to work for a living again! I am working on peas - I know how to have fun!!! My workmates are really friendly which is a big help.

My new house is also great. I was beginning to despair - I met a huge number of freaks whilst house hunting, my favourite (wrong word completely!) had a 5 page questionnaire for me to fill out including questions on whether I would do 2 hours cleaning a week! Also saw some right dumps, one place was actually a squat & they still wanted $80/week! Luckily I found one that was a nice house with normal people. I knew it was the one when Glen offered me some lunch as I had to dash back to work after viewing! Glen & Linda are "good value" (talking kiwi now) and have made me feel really welcome.

Didn’t manage to do much for the first month here, busy finding a house & car shopping but still managed to get out and test the local bars. They aren’t bad considering we are in a small town (even though they call it a city). Doesn’t liven up ‘til about midnight but that’s great when your on a budget, can have a few beers at home first. Atmosphere is friendly which is great when you don’t know many people.

Managed to do a couple of touristy weekends recently, went to Hamner Spring the other week with Sue. It was really nice & relaxing, spent a couple of hours lazing in the hot pools, got out and went for lunch & a glass of wine and then got back in the hot pools again. Sue was on top form & even managed to get us a free go on the waterslides!

This last weekend was labour day - random kiwi holiday. Went on a couple of girly road trips. First one Kate, Linda & I drove around the peninsula to Akaroa, a cute little town famous for swimming with dolphins. Water bloody freezing still so we sat and had fish & chips on the waterfront, then walked round all the little crafty shops. Next day Sue, Linda & I drove north along the coast to Kaikoura and had a really posh lunch & a glass of wine. Then drove out to see the seal colony, they come right up onto the beach so they are really close. We drove back home through the mountains which was beautiful but bloody scary in places as kiwi’s don’t believe in guard rails.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb